Deferred Divisons — Clause 1 — Referendum on the alternative vote system — 16 Feb 2011 at 20:14

Stephen Mosley MP, City of Chester voted with the majority (Aye).

I beg to move that this House insists on its disagreement with the Lords in their amendments 1 and 8, but proposes amendment (a) in lieu.

Yesterday the House debated whether to oppose including in the Bill Lord Rooker's amendments specifying that if less than 40% of the electorate vote in the referendum the result should not be binding. We have accepted an amendment in lieu. We do not accept that there should be a threshold in the referendum, and the amendment does not propose one. It simply states that the Electoral Commission must publish information about the turnout. If we were simply to oppose Lord Rooker's threshold amendment again without this amendment, and were their Lordships to reject our position, the rules on double insistence would result in the loss of the Bill. We have tabled our amendment to avoid that eventuality.

The House divided: Ayes 310, Noes 231.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alliance1 00100.0%
Con246 (+2 tell) 18086.9%
DUP0 4050.0%
Green1 00100.0%
Lab0 209 (+2 tell)082.1%
LDem53 0093.0%
PC3 00100.0%
SNP6 00100.0%
Total:310 231085.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Brian BinleyNorthampton SouthConno
Graham BradyAltrincham and Sale WestConno
William CashStoneConno
Christopher ChopeChristchurchConno
James ClappisonHertsmereConno
Geoffrey CoxTorridge and West DevonConno
Philip DaviesShipleyConno
David DavisHaltemprice and HowdenConno
Richard DraxSouth DorsetConno
Philip HolloboneKetteringConno
Bernard JenkinHarwich and North EssexConno
Julian LewisNew Forest EastConno
Anne MainSt AlbansConno
David NuttallBury NorthConno
Andrew PercyBrigg and GooleConno
Richard ShepherdAldridge-BrownhillsConno
Peter TapsellLouth and HorncastleConno
Sarah WollastonTotnesConno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive