Further and Higher Education (Access) Bill — 4 Mar 2011 at 13:41

I beg to move, That the Bill be now read a Second time.

This is a Bill to make provision to require all institutions of further and higher education in receipt of public funds to allocate places on merit, something that I understand my right hon. Friend the Minister with responsibility for universities and higher education very much supports. I hope, therefore, that the Government will support the Bill today; and if they do not I hope that the Minister for Further Education, Skills and Lifelong Learning, who I am pleased to see on the Front Bench, will spell out in detail exactly why not.

Question put, That the Bill be now read a Second time.

The House divided:

Ayes 3, Noes 33.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

All Votes Cast - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party are marked in red. Also shows which MPs were ministers at the time of this vote. You can also see every eligible MP including those who did not vote in this division.

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Peter BoneWellingboroughContellaye
Christopher ChopeChristchurchConaye
Philip DaviesShipleyConaye
Philip HolloboneKetteringContellaye
Mark RecklessRochester and StroodConaye
James BrokenshireOld Bexley and SidcupConno
Rehman ChishtiGillingham and RainhamConno
Greg ClarkTunbridge WellsConno
Therese CoffeySuffolk CoastalConno
Stephen CrabbPreseli PembrokeshireConno
Nick de BoisEnfield NorthConno
Jonathan DjanoglyHuntingdonConno
Philip DunneLudlowContellno
George EusticeCamborne and RedruthConno
Mike FreerFinchley and Golders GreenConno
David GaukeSouth West HertfordshireConno
Nick GibbBognor Regis and LittlehamptonConno
Damian GreenAshfordConno
Greg HandsChelsea and FulhamConno
Mark HarperForest of DeanConno
John HayesSouth Holland and The DeepingsConno
Charles HendryWealdenConno
Nick HurdRuislip, Northwood and PinnerConno
Jonathan LordWokingConno
David MundellDumfriesshire, Clydesdale and TweeddaleConno
Bob NeillBromley and ChislehurstConno
James PaiceSouth East CambridgeshireConno
Michael PenningHemel HempsteadConno
John RandallUxbridge and South RuislipConno
Jacob Rees-MoggNorth East SomersetConno
Andrew RobathanSouth LeicestershireConno
Chloe SmithNorwich NorthConno
Julian SmithSkipton and RiponConno
Bob StewartBeckenhamConno
Elizabeth TrussSouth West NorfolkConno
Bill WigginNorth HerefordshireContellno
Stephen PoundEaling NorthLabno
Jeremy BrowneTaunton DeaneLDemno
Edward DaveyKingston and SurbitonLDemno
Steve WebbThornbury and YateLDemno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive