European Union Bill — Suspension of Requirement for Referendum on Certain EU Decisions — 13 Jul 2011 at 20:21

was absent

The majority of members of the House of Lords voted to strengthen the requirement for a referendum on decisions which increase the powers and competencies of the EU, other than amendments to the core treaties of the EU.

Members of the House of Lords were considering the European Union Bill[1]. The motion rejected in this vote was Motion D1 which stated:

  • As an amendment to Motion D, at end insert "but do propose Amendment 15B in lieu"

Amendment 15B stated:

  • After Clause 21, insert the following new Clause-
  • Suspension of section 6 and Schedule 1
  • In Parliaments subsequent to the Parliament in which this Act is passed the Secretary of State may by order approved by a resolution of each House of Parliament provide that any provision of section 6 or Schedule 1 shall be suspended for the duration of that Parliament or for any lesser period."

The effect of the rejected amendment would have been to allow the requirement for a referendum on decisions which increase the powers and competencies of the EU, other than amendments to the core treaties of the EU, to be suspended.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop1 04.2%
Con138 (+1 tell) 161.7%
Crossbench15 2018.1%
DUP0 250.0%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Lab0 113 (+2 tell)45.6%
LDem54 (+1 tell) 1065.7%
UKIP2 0100.0%
UUP2 050.0%
Total:213 14645.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Deben Conaye
Cameron of DillingtonCrossbenchno
Craigavon Crossbenchno
Dear Crossbenchno
Greenway Crossbenchno
Hollins Crossbenchno
Kilclooney Crossbenchno
Masham of IltonCrossbenchno
Pannick Crossbenchno
Powell of BayswaterCrossbenchno
Ramsbotham Crossbenchno
Rana Crossbenchno
Scott of FoscoteCrossbenchno
Stirrup Crossbenchno
Sutherland of HoundwoodCrossbenchno
Walpole Crossbenchno
Dykes LDemaye
Goodhart LDemaye
Lester of Herne HillLDemaye
Maclennan of RogartLDemaye
Oakeshott of Seagrove BayLDemaye
Rodgers of Quarry BankLDemaye
Strasburger LDemaye
Taverne LDemaye
Tonge LDemaye
Williams of CrosbyLDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive