Protection of Freedoms Bill — Amendment to Programme Motion — 10 Oct 2011 at 18:58

Nick Herbert MP, Arundel and South Downs voted against more time to consider amendments to the Public Order Act, including reducing the scope of offence of causing harassment, alarm or distress.

The majority of MPs voted against spending more time considering amendments to the Public Order Act, including reducing the scope of offence of causing harassment, alarm or distress.

MPs were considering their timetable for consideration of the Protection of Freedoms Bill.

The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • after “Proceedings” on the first day insert—
  • ‘New Clauses relating to the Public Order Act 1986; and’

Had this rejected amendment been passed it would have ensured that amendments to the Bill, including proposals[1] to restrict the scope of Section 5 of the Public Order Act 1986 were considered during the first day's debate on the Bill, from the start of the main business until 8.30pm, rather than being dealt with alongside many other matters on in the last hour allocated to the consideration of the Bill.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con199 (+2 tell) 39 (+2 tell)179.4%
DUP0 3037.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab1 803.5%
LDem42 2077.2%
PC0 2066.7%
SDLP0 1033.3%
SNP0 5083.3%
Total:242 61148.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Adam AfriyieWindsorConaye
Peter AldousWaveneyConaye
Steven BakerWycombeConaye
John BaronBasildon and BillericayConaye
Guto BebbAberconwyConaye
Brian BinleyNorthampton SouthConaye
Peter BoneWellingboroughContellaye
Graham BradyAltrincham and Sale WestConaye
Andrew BridgenNorth West LeicestershireConaye
Fiona BruceCongletonConaye
Alun CairnsVale of GlamorganConaye
Christopher ChopeChristchurchConaye
Tracey CrouchChatham and AylesfordConaye
Philip DaviesShipleyConaye
David DavisHaltemprice and HowdenConaye
James GrayNorth WiltshireConaye
Ben GummerIpswichConaye
Simon HartCarmarthen West and South PembrokeshireConaye
Chris Heaton-HarrisDaventryConaye
Gordon HendersonSittingbourne and SheppeyConaye
Philip HolloboneKetteringContellaye
Bernard JenkinHarwich and North EssexConaye
Greg KnightEast YorkshireConaye
Jeremy LefroyStaffordConaye
Edward LeighGainsboroughConaye
Julian LewisNew Forest EastConaye
Anne MainSt AlbansConaye
Karl McCartneyLincolnConaye
Nigel MillsAmber ValleyConaye
David NuttallBury NorthConaye
Dominic RaabEsher and WaltonConaye
John RedwoodWokinghamConaye
Laura SandysSouth ThanetConaye
Nicholas SoamesMid SussexConaye
Andrew TurnerIsle of WightConaye
Martin VickersCleethorpesConaye
Charles WalkerBroxbourneConaye
Robert WalterNorth DorsetConaye
James WhartonStockton SouthConaye
Craig WhittakerCalder ValleyConaye
John WhittingdaleMaldonConaye
Richard DraxSouth DorsetConboth
Paul FlynnNewport WestLabno
Alan BeithBerwick-upon-TweedLDemaye
John HemmingBirmingham, YardleyLDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive