Delegated Legislation — Financial Assistance to Ireland and Portugal — 11 Oct 2011 at 21:58

Nigel Adams MP, Selby and Ainsty voted with the majority (Aye).

That this House takes note of European Union Documents No. 9776/11 relating to a Draft Council implementing Decision on granting Union financial assistance to Portugal, No. 9780/2/11, relating to a Council implementing Decision on granting Union financial assistance to Portugal, and No. 9777/11 relating to a draft Council implementing Decision amending implementing Decision 2011/77/EU of 7 December 2010 on granting Union financial assistance to Ireland; notes the importance of financial stability in the Euro area for the UK; welcomes the recent steps being taken by the governments of Ireland and Portugal to promote growth and return their economies to a sustainable path; welcomes the Government’s success in securing agreement that the European Financial Stabilisation Mechanism will cease to exist once the permanent, Euro area-only, European Stability Mechanism becomes operational in July 2013; and that Article 122(2) of the Treaty on the Functioning of the EU, the basis for the emergency arrangements, will no longer be needed for such purposes.-(Bill Wiggin.)

The House divided:

Ayes 271, Noes 22.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con216 (+1 tell) 13 (+2 tell)276.5%
DUP0 6075.0%
Ind0 10100.0%
Lab0 000.0%
LDem46 (+1 tell) 0082.5%
SDLP2 0066.7%
SNP5 0083.3%
Total:269 20246.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Steven BakerWycombeConno
Brian BinleyNorthampton SouthConno
Peter BoneWellingboroughContellno
Douglas CarswellClactonConno
William CashStoneConno
Christopher ChopeChristchurchConno
James GrayNorth WiltshireConno
Philip HolloboneKetteringContellno
Bernard JenkinHarwich and North EssexConno
Julian LewisNew Forest EastConno
Anne MainSt AlbansConno
David NuttallBury NorthConno
Andrew PercyBrigg and GooleConno
John RedwoodWokinghamConno
Andrew TurnerIsle of WightConno
Zac GoldsmithRichmond ParkConboth
Jason McCartneyColne ValleyConboth

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive