National Referendum on the United Kingdom's Membership of the European Union — 24 Oct 2011 at 21:55

Albert Owen MP, Ynys Môn voted against a referendum on the United Kingdom's membership of the European Union

The majority of MPs voted against a proposal to call upon the Government to hold a referendum on the United Kingdom's membership of the European Union.

The defeated motion was moved by David Nuttall MP[1], it read:

  • That this House
  • calls upon the Government to introduce a Bill in the next session of Parliament to provide for the holding of a national referendum on whether the United Kingdom should
  • (a) remain a member of the European Union on the current terms;
  • (b) leave the European Union; or
  • (c) re-negotiate the terms of its membership in order to create a new relationship based on trade and co-operation.

Despite the majority of MPs not supporting this motion Parliament did eventually consider a European Union (Referendum) Bill introduced as a private members bill by James Wharton MP[2].

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance1 00100.0%
Con208 (+2 tell) 79 (+2 tell)295.8%
DUP0 80100.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Ind0 10100.0%
Lab216 19091.1%
LDem50 1089.5%
PC3 00100.0%
SDLP3 00100.0%
Total:481 109293.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Stuart AndrewPudseyConaye
Steven BakerWycombeConaye
John BaronBasildon and BillericayConaye
Andrew BinghamHigh PeakConaye
Brian BinleyNorthampton SouthConaye
Bob BlackmanHarrow EastConaye
Peter BoneWellingboroughContellaye
Graham BradyAltrincham and Sale WestConaye
Andrew BridgenNorth West LeicestershireConaye
Steve BrineWinchesterConaye
Fiona BruceCongletonConaye
Dan BylesNorth WarwickshireConaye
Douglas CarswellClactonConaye
William CashStoneConaye
Christopher ChopeChristchurchConaye
James ClappisonHertsmereConaye
Tracey CrouchChatham and AylesfordConaye
David DaviesMonmouthConaye
Philip DaviesShipleyConaye
David DavisHaltemprice and HowdenConaye
Nick de BoisEnfield NorthConaye
Caroline DinenageGosportConaye
Nadine DorriesMid BedfordshireConaye
Richard DraxSouth DorsetConaye
Mark FieldCities of London and WestminsterConaye
Lorraine FullbrookSouth RibbleConaye
Zac GoldsmithRichmond ParkConaye
James GrayNorth WiltshireConaye
Chris Heaton-HarrisDaventryConaye
Gordon HendersonSittingbourne and SheppeyConaye
George HollingberyMeon ValleyConaye
Philip HolloboneKetteringContellaye
Adam HollowayGraveshamConaye
Stewart JacksonPeterboroughConaye
Bernard JenkinHarwich and North EssexConaye
Marcus JonesNuneatonConaye
Chris KellyDudley SouthConaye
Andrea LeadsomSouth NorthamptonshireConaye
Jeremy LefroyStaffordConaye
Edward LeighGainsboroughConaye
Julian LewisNew Forest EastConaye
Karen LumleyRedditchConaye
Anne MainSt AlbansConaye
Jason McCartneyColne ValleyConaye
Karl McCartneyLincolnConaye
Stephen McPartlandStevenageConaye
Patrick MercerNewarkConaye
Nigel MillsAmber ValleyConaye
Anne-Marie MorrisNewton AbbotConaye
James MorrisHalesowen and Rowley RegisConaye
Stephen MosleyCity of ChesterConaye
Sheryll MurraySouth East CornwallConaye
Caroline NokesRomsey and Southampton NorthConaye
David NuttallBury NorthConaye
Matthew OffordHendonConaye
Neil ParishTiverton and HonitonConaye
Priti PatelWithamConaye
Andrew PercyBrigg and GooleConaye
Mark PritchardThe WrekinConaye
Mark RecklessRochester and StroodConaye
John RedwoodWokinghamConaye
Jacob Rees-MoggNorth East SomersetConaye
Simon ReevellDewsburyConaye
Laurence RobertsonTewkesburyConaye
Andrew RosindellRomfordConaye
Richard ShepherdAldridge-BrownhillsConaye
Henry SmithCrawleyConaye
John StevensonCarlisleConaye
Bob StewartBeckenhamConaye
Gary StreeterSouth West DevonConaye
Julian SturdyYork OuterConaye
Peter TapsellLouth and HorncastleConaye
Justin TomlinsonNorth SwindonConaye
Andrew TurnerIsle of WightConaye
Martin VickersCleethorpesConaye
Charles WalkerBroxbourneConaye
Robin WalkerWorcesterConaye
Heather WheelerSouth DerbyshireConaye
Craig WhittakerCalder ValleyConaye
John WhittingdaleMaldonConaye
Sarah WollastonTotnesConaye
Iain StewartMilton Keynes SouthConboth
Mike WeatherleyHoveConboth
Ronnie CampbellBlyth ValleyLabaye
Rosie CooperWest LancashireLabaye
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabaye
Jon CruddasDagenham and RainhamLabaye
John CryerLeyton and WansteadLabaye
Ian DavidsonGlasgow South WestLabaye
Natascha EngelNorth East DerbyshireLabaye
Frank FieldBirkenheadLabaye
Roger GodsiffBirmingham, Hall GreenLabaye
Kate HoeyVauxhallLabaye
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabaye
Stephen McCabeBirmingham, Selly OakLabaye
John McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabaye
Austin MitchellGreat GrimsbyLabaye
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabaye
Andrew SmithOxford EastLabaye
Graham StringerBlackley and BroughtonLabaye
Gisela StuartBirmingham, EdgbastonLabaye
Mike WoodBatley and SpenLabaye
Adrian SandersTorbayLDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive