Procedure of the House (Proposal 1) — Motion to Resolve — 8 Nov 2011 at 16:26

was absent

Moved By The Chairman of Committees

To move to resolve that the role currently performed by the Leader of the House or Government front bench during oral questions and oral statements be transferred for a trial period to the Lord Speaker, or in her absence the Chairman of Committees or another Deputy Speaker;
That the role thus transferred includes the responsibility to arbitrate between groups within the House, but not any responsibility to arbitrate between individual members by name;
That the trial begin at the start of the 2012-13 session of Parliament, and continue until the start of the summer recess 2012;
That following the completion of the trial, the procedure at question time and during oral statements should revert to its current form, pending a review by the Procedure Committee.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop1 04.2%
Con129 (+2 tell) 459.2%
Crossbench50 2036.5%
DUP1 025.0%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Lab16 113 (+2 tell)52.2%
LDem28 2958.2%
Other1 025.0%
PC0 1100.0%
UKIP2 0100.0%
UUP2 050.0%
Total:231 16749.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Baker of DorkingConaye
Hurd of WestwellConaye
Lamont of LerwickConaye
Marlesford Conaye
Bew Crossbenchaye
Bichard Crossbenchaye
Boothroyd Crossbenchaye
Butler of BrockwellCrossbenchaye
Campbell of SurbitonCrossbenchaye
Elystan-Morgan Crossbenchaye
Fellowes Crossbenchaye
Grey-Thompson Crossbenchaye
Hannay of ChiswickCrossbenchaye
Hollins Crossbenchaye
Howarth of BrecklandCrossbenchaye
Hylton Crossbenchaye
Kerr of KinlochardCrossbenchaye
Luce Crossbenchaye
Meacher Crossbenchaye
Morgan of DrefelinCrossbenchaye
Murphy Crossbenchaye
O'Loan Crossbenchaye
Pannick Crossbenchaye
Young of HornseyCrossbenchaye
Christopher Labno
Clarke of HampsteadLabno
Desai Labno
Dixon Labno
Farrington of RibbletonLabno
Faulkner of WorcesterLabno
Hilton of EggardonLabno
Hollis of HeighamLabno
Jones Labno
Lofthouse of PontefractLabno
Morris of HandsworthLabno
Paul Labno
Simon Labno
Symons of Vernham DeanLabno
Wall of New BarnetLabno
West of SpitheadLabno
Addington LDemno
Avebury LDemno
Clement-Jones LDemno
Dholakia LDemno
Dykes LDemno
Falkner of MargravineLDemno
Garden of FrognalLDemno
Harris of RichmondLDemno
Lester of Herne HillLDemno
Loomba LDemno
Maddock LDemno
McNally LDemno
Nicholson of WinterbourneLDemno
Northover LDemno
Phillips of SudburyLDemno
Razzall LDemno
Redesdale LDemno
Rennard LDemno
Rodgers of Quarry BankLDemno
Shutt of GreetlandLDemno
Stephen LDemno
Thomas of GresfordLDemno
Thomas of WalliswoodLDemno
Tope LDemno
Tordoff LDemno
Wallace of SaltaireLDemno
Wallace of TankernessLDemno
Willis of KnaresboroughLDemno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive