Procedure of the House (Proposal 9) — Motion to Resolve — 8 Nov 2011 at 17:25

was absent

Moved By The Chairman of Committees

To resolve that the House adopt the following practice in respect of appellations:
Members should address the House as a whole, and they should never use the second person when addressing other Members in debate. A Member may refer to any other Member, without specifying his or her title, as "the noble Lord", "the noble Lady", "the noble Duke", "the right reverend Bishop" or "the most reverend Archbishop". Members may also, if they so wish, use the appropriate rank-for example "the noble Earl" or "the noble Baroness"-but there is no obligation to do so. When referring to another Member by name, the correct form is "Lord W", "Lady X", "the Duke of Y", "the Bishop/Archbishop of Z". Members may also use the term "my noble friend" to refer to fellow members of a political party. When referring to a Minister of the Crown, Members may refer to "the Leader of the House", "the Minister" or "the Secretary of State", as appropriate.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

Bishop1 04.2%
Con2 112 (+2 tell)50.9%
Crossbench34 2832.3%
DUP0 125.0%
Independent Labour0 1100.0%
Lab96 (+2 tell) 541.0%
LDem36 2057.1%
Other1 025.0%
PC1 0100.0%
UKIP0 2100.0%
UUP0 250.0%
Total:171 17142.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Ashton of HydeConaye
Skelmersdale Conaye
Allenby of MegiddoCrossbenchno
Alton of LiverpoolCrossbenchno
Armstrong of IlminsterCrossbenchno
Butler-Sloss Crossbenchno
Cobbold Crossbenchno
Craig of RadleyCrossbenchno
Dear Crossbenchno
Eames Crossbenchno
Elystan-Morgan Crossbenchno
Greengross Crossbenchno
Greenway Crossbenchno
Grey-Thompson Crossbenchno
Howe of IdlicoteCrossbenchno
Inge Crossbenchno
Kakkar Crossbenchno
Kilclooney Crossbenchno
The of ListowelCrossbenchno
Lloyd of BerwickCrossbenchno
The of MarCrossbenchno
O'Neill of BengarveCrossbenchno
Palmer Crossbenchno
Patel Crossbenchno
Rowe-Beddoe Crossbenchno
Saltoun of AbernethyCrossbenchno
Slim Crossbenchno
Stirrup Crossbenchno
Walpole Crossbenchno
Walton of DetchantCrossbenchno
Gilbert Labno
Morris of AberavonLabno
Simon Labno
Symons of Vernham DeanLabno
West of SpitheadLabno
Alderdice LDemno
Benjamin LDemno
Carlile of BerriewLDemno
Clement-Jones LDemno
Cotter LDemno
Falkland LDemno
Falkner of MargravineLDemno
The of GlasgowLDemno
Goodhart LDemno
Lee of TraffordLDemno
Loomba LDemno
Maddock LDemno
McNally LDemno
Nicholson of WinterbourneLDemno
Northover LDemno
Redesdale LDemno
Rodgers of Quarry BankLDemno
Steel of AikwoodLDemno
Thomas of GresfordLDemno
Wallace of TankernessLDemno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive