Backbench Business — Ministerial Statements — 5 Dec 2011 at 18:42

Heather Wheeler MP, South Derbyshire voted with the majority (No).

I beg to move,

That this House expects Ministers to make all important announcements relating to government policy to Parliament before they are made elsewhere on all occasions when Parliament is sitting; considers that information which forms all or part of such announcements should not be released to the press before such a statement is made to Parliament, as recommended in the First Report from the Procedure Committee, on Ministerial Statements, HC 602; and further considers that hon. Members who believe the protocol has been breached should first report this to the Speaker for his judgment and that in the case of a minor breach the Speaker may take appropriate steps but in more serious or more complex cases he would refer the matter to the Committee on Standards and Privileges for further investigation.

Question put.

The House divided:

Ayes 119, Noes 228.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con195 (+2 tell) 15 (+2 tell)069.9%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab0 97037.7%
LDem33 1059.6%
PC0 2066.7%
SDLP0 1033.3%
SNP0 2033.3%
Total:228 119055.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Steven BakerWycombeConaye
Douglas CarswellClactonConaye
Christopher ChopeChristchurchConaye
Philip DaviesShipleyConaye
Nadine DorriesMid BedfordshireConaye
Richard DraxSouth DorsetConaye
Zac GoldsmithRichmond ParkConaye
James GrayNorth WiltshireContellaye
Philip HolloboneKetteringContellaye
Stewart JacksonPeterboroughConaye
Bernard JenkinHarwich and North EssexConaye
Julian LewisNew Forest EastConaye
David NuttallBury NorthConaye
John RedwoodWokinghamConaye
Jacob Rees-MoggNorth East SomersetConaye
Sir John StanleyTonbridge and MallingConaye
Sarah WollastonTotnesConaye
John HemmingBirmingham, YardleyLDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive