Ten Minute Rule Bill- Annual Statements of Healthcare Costs — 22 Feb 2012 at 12:46

David Laws MP, Yeovil voted to require GPs to issue patients with an annual statement of their healthcare costs.

The majority of MPs voted against requiring GPs to issue patients with an annual statement of their healthcare costs.

The text of Dr Philip Lee MP's rejected motion was:

  • That leave be given to bring in a Bill to require the Secretary of State to instruct general practices to issue annually to each person eligible for care provided by the National Health Service an itemised account of the cost of his or her healthcare in the preceding 12 months, and for connected purposes.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance1 00100.0%
Con16 78 (+2 tell)031.4%
DUP6 0075.0%
Ind1 00100.0%
Lab128 (+2 tell) 1050.8%
LDem19 2036.8%
PC2 0066.7%
SDLP3 00100.0%
Total:176 81041.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Peter BoneWellingboroughConno
Christopher ChopeChristchurchConno
Therese CoffeySuffolk CoastalConno
Nadine DorriesMid BedfordshireConno
Jane EllisonBatterseaConno
Robert HalfonHarlowConno
Stewart JacksonPeterboroughConno
Simon KirbyBrighton, KemptownConno
Jeremy LefroyStaffordConno
Anne MainSt AlbansConno
Sheryll MurraySouth East CornwallConno
Andrew PercyBrigg and GooleConno
Daniel PoulterCentral Suffolk and North IpswichConno
Laurence RobertsonTewkesburyConno
Henry SmithCrawleyConno
Robin WalkerWorcesterConno
Hugh BayleyYork CentralLabaye
David LawsYeovilLDemaye
Tessa MuntWellsLDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive