Election of Backbench Business Committee — 12 Mar 2012 at 17:46

James Gray MP, North Wiltshire voted to require a representative of MPs from minority parties on the Backbench Business Committee.

The majority of MPs voted against requiring a representative of MPs from minority parties on the Backbench Business Committee.

MPs were considering a motion[1] on the arrangements for operation of the Backbench Business Committee, including membership of the committee and the election of chair.

The committee is responsible for allocating certain periods of parliamentary time for "backbench business"; MPs can apply to it if they wish to get see particular motion debated in the House of Commons or in Westminster Hall.

The first paragraph of the motion stated:

  • (1) this House endorses the principle that parties should elect members of the Backbench Business Committee each Session and thereafter when a vacancy arises in a secret ballot of all Members of that party by whichever transparent and democratic method they choose.

The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment (a), at end of paragraph (1), after ‘choose’, insert:
  • ‘; and that the members of those parties who would not otherwise be represented on the Committee, or of no party, should choose one Member to represent them on the Committee by a secret ballot of those Members’.

MP Natascha Engel who proposed the amendment spoke during the debate to say[2]:

  • The Backbench Business Committee is different from other Select Committees, in that it represents all Back Benchers of the House. At the moment, however, we do that very poorly by not having representation from the minority parties.

At the time of the vote section 2(f)(i) of House of Commons Standing Order 122D[3] which set out the rules for the election of the Backbench Business Committee required that:

  • such a number of candidates shall come from each party represented in the House or those of no party as shall be determined and announced in advance by the Speaker, in such a way as to ensure that the committee including the Chair reflects as closely as possible the composition of the House


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con134 (+1 tell) 33054.9%
DUP0 2025.0%
Lab12 49023.7%
LDem20 (+1 tell) 13059.6%
PC0 2066.7%
SNP0 2 (+2 tell)066.7%
Total:166 101042.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Richard BaconSouth NorfolkConaye
John BaronBasildon and BillericayConaye
Peter BoneWellingboroughConaye
Graham BradyAltrincham and Sale WestConaye
Andrew BridgenNorth West LeicestershireConaye
Douglas CarswellClactonConaye
William CashStoneConaye
Philip DaviesShipleyConaye
David DavisHaltemprice and HowdenConaye
Mark FieldCities of London and WestminsterConaye
Zac GoldsmithRichmond ParkConaye
James GrayNorth WiltshireConaye
Robert HalfonHarlowConaye
Bernard JenkinHarwich and North EssexConaye
Julian LewisNew Forest EastConaye
Karl McCartneyLincolnConaye
Nigel MillsAmber ValleyConaye
David NuttallBury NorthConaye
Matthew OffordHendonConaye
Richard OttawayCroydon SouthConaye
Andrew PercyBrigg and GooleConaye
Mark PritchardThe WrekinConaye
Mark RecklessRochester and StroodConaye
John RedwoodWokinghamConaye
Jacob Rees-MoggNorth East SomersetConaye
Andrew RosindellRomfordConaye
Richard ShepherdAldridge-BrownhillsConaye
Gary StreeterSouth West DevonConaye
Andrew TurnerIsle of WightConaye
Andrew TyrieChichesterConaye
Heather WheelerSouth DerbyshireConaye
John WhittingdaleMaldonConaye
Sarah WollastonTotnesConaye
Rushanara AliBethnal Green and BowLabno
Graham AllenNottingham NorthLabno
Clive BettsSheffield South EastLabno
Mary CreaghWakefieldLabno
Thomas DochertyDunfermline and West FifeLabno
Brian H DonohoeCentral AyrshireLabno
Angela EagleWallaseyLabno
Jim FitzpatrickPoplar and LimehouseLabno
David HansonDelynLabno
Christopher LeslieNottingham EastLabno
Jonathan ReynoldsStalybridge and HydeLabno
Angela SmithPenistone and StocksbridgeLabno
Alan BeithBerwick-upon-TweedLDemaye
Tim FarronWestmorland and LonsdaleLDemaye
Andrew GeorgeSt IvesLDemaye
John HemmingBirmingham, YardleyLDemaye
Martin HorwoodCheltenhamLDemaye
Simon HughesBermondsey and Old SouthwarkLDemaye
Greg MulhollandLeeds North WestLDemaye
Tessa MuntWellsLDemaye
Adrian SandersTorbayLDemaye
Robert SmithWest Aberdeenshire and KincardineLDemaye
Ian SwalesRedcarLDemaye
Mark WilliamsCeredigionLDemaye
Roger WilliamsBrecon and RadnorshireLDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive