Bill Presented — Enterprise and Regulatory Reform Bill — Electoral Registration and Administration Bill — 23 May 2012 at 18:50

David Laws MP, Yeovil voted with the majority (No).

I beg to move, That the Bill be now read a Second time.

The Electoral Registration and Administration Bill will tackle electoral fraud by speeding up the introduction of individual electoral registration-that is, requiring electors to register individually rather than by households. In doing so, we will move towards a system in which individuals have to provide information to enable their application to be verified. That will modernise our electoral registration system, facilitate the move to online registration and make it more convenient for people to register to vote. We want to tackle electoral fraud, increase the number of people registered to vote and improve the integrity of the electoral register.

I beg to move an amendment, to leave out from “That” to the end of the Question and add:

“this House, whilst affirming its support for a complete and accurate electoral register and a move to a system of individual electoral registration (IER), declines to give a Second Reading to the Electoral Registration and Administration Bill because whilst the Political Parties and Elections Act 2009 received cross-party

Question put, That the amendment be made.

The House divided:

Ayes 223, Noes 283.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance1 00100.0%
Con244 (+1 tell) 0080.1%
DUP1 1025.0%
Lab0 213 (+2 tell)083.7%
LDem37 (+1 tell) 0066.7%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 1033.3%
SNP0 5083.3%
Total:283 223079.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive