Opposition Day — Adult Social Care — Cost of Care — 16 Jul 2012 at 21:51

George Osborne MP, Tatton did not vote.

The majority of MPs voted against protecting people against high costs of care by establishing a legal and financial framework for adult social care.

The motion rejected in this vote was:

  • That this House
  • notes the growing crisis in adult social care;
  • welcomes many of the proposals in the Care and Support White Paper including national minimum standards on eligibility, stronger legal rights for family carers, portability of care packages and improvements to end-of-life care;
  • notes that many of these ideas were proposed by the previous administration, but believes they are now in danger of appearing meaningless without the ability to properly fund them;
  • is concerned that the Government is considering a cap on individual costs as high as £100,000;
  • is committed to the important Dilnot Commission principle that protection against the risks of high care costs should be provided for everyone; and
  • calls on the Government to honour the commitment in its 2010 NHS White Paper to introduce legislation in the second session of this Parliament to establish a legal and financial framework for adult social care.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con247 (+1 tell) 0081.0%
DUP0 3037.5%
Lab0 217 (+2 tell)085.2%
LDem45 (+1 tell) 0080.7%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 2066.7%
Total:292 225082.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive