Equality (Marriage) (Amendment) Bill — Protection In Respect of Beliefs About Definition of Marriage — 29 Jan 2013 at 13:43

The majority of MPs voted to give people protection from being discriminated against due to their beliefs about the definition of marriage.

The motion voted on was:

  • That leave be given to bring in a Bill[1] to amend the protected characteristics in the Equality Act 2010 to include a person’s conscientious beliefs about the definition of marriage; and for connected purposes.

The Bill did not become law as it failed to complete its passage through Parliament before the end of the session.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con64 (+2 tell) 13 (+2 tell)026.6%
DUP6 0075.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Ind1 00100.0%
Lab8 605.4%
LDem7 11031.6%
Total:86 31019.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Crispin BluntReigateConno
Peter BoneWellingboroughContellno
Peter BottomleyWorthing WestConno
Neil CarmichaelStroudConno
James DuddridgeRochford and Southend EastConno
Jane EllisonBatterseaConno
Mike FreerFinchley and Golders GreenConno
Nick HerbertArundel and South DownsConno
Philip HolloboneKetteringContellno
Bernard JenkinHarwich and North EssexConno
Jason McCartneyColne ValleyConno
Andrew PercyBrigg and GooleConno
Justin TomlinsonNorth SwindonConno
Mike WeatherleyHoveConno
Sarah WollastonTotnesConno
Hugh BayleyYork CentralLabno
Michael ConnartyLinlithgow and East FalkirkLabno
Frank DoranAberdeen NorthLabno
Paul FlynnNewport WestLabno
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabno
John McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabno
Alan BeithBerwick-upon-TweedLDemaye
Gordon BirtwistleBurnleyLDemaye
John HemmingBirmingham, YardleyLDemaye
Simon HughesBermondsey and Old SouthwarkLDemaye
Charles KennedyRoss, Skye and LochaberLDemaye
Greg MulhollandLeeds North WestLDemaye
John PughSouthportLDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive