Marriage (Same Sex Couples) Bill (Money) — 5 Feb 2013 at 18:52

The majority of MPs voted in favour of allowing same sex couples to marry.

MPs were technically voting to approve spending arising as a result of the Marriage (Same Sex Couples) Bill[1].

The text of the approved motion was:

  • That, for the purposes of any Act resulting from the Marriage (Same Sex Couples) Bill, it is expedient to authorise—
  • (1) the payment out of money provided by Parliament of—
  • (a) any expenditure incurred under or by virtue of the Act by a person holding office under Her Majesty or by a government department, and
  • (b) any increase attributable to the Act in the sums payable under any other Act out of money so provided, and
  • (2) the payment out of the Consolidated Fund of any increase attributable to the Act in the sums payable under any other Act out of that Fund


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alliance1 00100.0%
Con215 (+1 tell) 24 (+2 tell)079.3%
DUP0 80100.0%
Green1 00100.0%
Ind0 10100.0%
Lab217 1084.5%
LDem43 (+1 tell) 0078.6%
PC3 00100.0%
SDLP1 0033.3%
Total:481 34081.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Andrew BinghamHigh PeakConno
Bob BlackmanHarrow EastConno
Peter BoneWellingboroughContellno
Fiona BruceCongletonConno
William CashStoneConno
Christopher ChopeChristchurchConno
Philip DaviesShipleyConno
David DavisHaltemprice and HowdenConno
Nadine DorriesMid BedfordshireConno
Richard DraxSouth DorsetConno
James GrayNorth WiltshireConno
Philip HolloboneKetteringContellno
Gerald HowarthAldershotConno
Stewart JacksonPeterboroughConno
Edward LeighGainsboroughConno
Karl McCartneyLincolnConno
Stephen McPartlandStevenageConno
David NuttallBury NorthConno
Matthew OffordHendonConno
Jacob Rees-MoggNorth East SomersetConno
Simon ReevellDewsburyConno
John StevensonCarlisleConno
Bob StewartBeckenhamConno
Martin VickersCleethorpesConno
Craig WhittakerCalder ValleyConno
John WhittingdaleMaldonConno
Mary GlindonNorth TynesideLabno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive