Justice and Security Bill — Clause 2 — Intelligence and Security Committee — Consideration of Prospective New Agency Heads — 7 Mar 2013 at 15:30

George Osborne MP, Tatton did not vote.

The majority of MPs voted against Parliament's Intelligence and Security Committee considering the proposed appointments of new heads of MI5, MI6 and GCHQ, including by questioning the prospective appointees and potentially holding hearings in public.

MPs were considering the Justice and Security Bill[1][2]. The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment proposed: 74, page 2, line 29, at end insert—
  • ‘(4A) The ISC shall consider the proposed appointment of the following, including by questioning the prospective appointee at a meeting of the ISC—
  • (a) the Head of the Security Service;
  • (b) the Head of the Secret Intelligence Service;
  • (c) the Head of the Government Communications Headquarters; and
  • (d) such other persons as the Prime Minister may direct.
  • (4B) The ISC may consider the appropriateness of holding hearings considering each prospective appointee’s proposed appointment in public.’.

Had it not been rejected the amendment would have added the above text to clause 2[3] of the Bill which sets out the main functions of the Intelligence and Security Committee.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con211 (+1 tell) 0069.5%
DUP2 0025.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab0 160 (+2 tell)062.8%
LDem36 (+1 tell) 0064.9%
PC0 2066.7%
SNP0 3050.0%
Total:249 166065.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive