Energy Bill — Clause 1 — Requirement to Set a Decarbonisation Target Range — 4 Jun 2013 at 15:45

The majority of MPs voted against requiring the setting of a target range for the amount of carbon dioxide (or other greenhouse gases) produced per unit of electricity generated.

The text of the approved amendment stated:

  • amendment 11, page 1, line 4, after ‘ensure’, insert— ‘that a decarbonisation target range is set and that’.

this amendment would have taken effect on Clause 1(1) of the Bill which stated:

  • It is the duty of the Secretary of State to ensure, in respect of each year in relation to which a decarbonisation target range is set, that the carbon intensity of electricity generation in Great Britain is no greater than the maximum permitted level of the decarbonisation target range.

A “decarbonisation target range”, in relation to any year, means a range for the carbon intensity of electricity generation in Great Britain. Carbon intensity is a measure of the amount of carbon dioxide (or other greenhouse gases) produced per unit of electricity generated.[1][2]


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con260 (+1 tell) 8088.2%
DUP1 6087.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab0 226 (+2 tell)088.4%
LDem29 (+1 tell) 16082.1%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 2066.7%
SNP0 5083.3%
Total:290 267087.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Peter AldousWaveneyConaye
David AmessSouthend WestConaye
Peter BottomleyWorthing WestConaye
Zac GoldsmithRichmond ParkConaye
Jason McCartneyColne ValleyConaye
Caroline NokesRomsey and Southampton NorthConaye
Matthew OffordHendonConaye
Tim YeoSouth SuffolkConaye
Sammy WilsonEast AntrimDUPno
Annette BrookeMid Dorset and North PooleLDemaye
Malcolm BruceGordonLDemaye
Tim FarronWestmorland and LonsdaleLDemaye
Andrew GeorgeSt IvesLDemaye
John HemmingBirmingham, YardleyLDemaye
Martin HorwoodCheltenhamLDemaye
Julian HuppertCambridgeLDemaye
John LeechManchester, WithingtonLDemaye
Greg MulhollandLeeds North WestLDemaye
John PughSouthportLDemaye
Adrian SandersTorbayLDemaye
Mike ThorntonEastleighLDemaye
David WardBradford EastLDemaye
Mark WilliamsCeredigionLDemaye
Roger WilliamsBrecon and RadnorshireLDemaye
Stephen WilliamsBristol WestLDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive