Infrastructure Bill — New Clause 2 — Shale Gas Extraction in Scotland — Devolution of Regulation to Scottish Parliament — 26 Jan 2015 at 17:30

Andrew Mitchell MP, Sutton Coldfield voted not to devolve the regulation of shale gas extraction in Scotland to the Scottish Parliament.

The majority of MPs voted not to devolve the regulation of shale gas extraction in Scotland to the Scottish Parliament.

MPs were considering the Infrastructure Bill[1].

The proposed new clause rejected in this vote stated:

  • (1) The Scotland Act 1998 is amended as follows:
  • (2) In Schedule 5, Part II, section D2, after “gas other than through pipes,”, insert—
  • “( ) The licensing of onshore shale gas extraction underlying Scotland.
  • ( ) Responsibility for mineral access rights for onshore extraction of shale gas in Scotland.

Had it not been rejected this clause would have added the regulation of shale gas extraction in Scotland to a list of exceptions to the list of powers relating to oil and gas in Scotland "reserved" by the UK Parliament.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con278 (+1 tell) 0092.1%
DUP1 0012.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab0 218 (+2 tell)085.3%
LDem44 (+1 tell) 0080.4%
PC0 2066.7%
Respect0 10100.0%
SDLP0 2066.7%
SNP0 60100.0%
UKIP1 0050.0%
Total:324 231087.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive