Finance Bill — Review of Impact of 1 Percent Cut to the Main Rate of Corporation Tax — 25 Mar 2015 at 18:30

George Osborne MP, Tatton did not vote.

The majority of MPs voted against requiring a review of the impact of a one per cent to the main rate of Corporation Tax for 2016-17.

This vote followed shortly after a vote in which the main rate for Corporation Tax for 2016-17 was set at 20%, the same rate has it had been in 2015-16[1].

MPs were considering the Finance Bill[2].

The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • amendment 2, page 3, line 39, at end insert
  • “(3) The Chancellor of the Exchequer shall undertake a review, within six months of the passing of this Act, of the impact of a cut of one per cent to the main rate of Corporation Tax for financial year 2016, with particular reference to—
  • (a) the impact on businesses with fewer than 50 employees;
  • (b) the impact on investment by businesses with fewer than 50 employees; and
  • (c) alternative tax measures, including non-domestic rates, which would have a greater benefit for businesses with fewer than 50 employees.
  • (4) The Chancellor of the Exchequer must publish the report of the review and lay the report before the House.”.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con268 (+2 tell) 0089.1%
DUP0 1012.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab0 218 (+2 tell)085.3%
LDem38 0067.9%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 1033.3%
SNP0 5083.3%
Total:306 229084.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive