Enterprise Bill — New Schedule 1 — Exemptions from Cap on Payments Made in Relation to Leaving Employment — 8 Mar 2016 at 15:30

George Osborne MP, Tatton did not vote.

The majority of MPs voted against exempting a list of public sector bodies from a proposed cap on payments made in relation to leaving employment.

MPs were considering the Enterprise Bill[1].

The proposed new schedule rejected in this vote was titled: New Schedule 1 — Bodies excluded from the restrictions on public sector exit payments and stated:

  • Payments made by the following bodies are excluded from the restrictions on public sector exit payments—
  • (a) Sellafield Ltd,
  • (b) Westinghouse Springfields Fuels Ltd,
  • (c) Magnox Ltd,
  • (d) National Nuclear Laboratory,
  • (e) International Nuclear Services,
  • (f) Atomic Weapons Establishment Ltd,
  • (g) Low Level Waste Repository Ltd,
  • (h) Dounreay Site Restoration Ltd,
  • (i) RSRL Winfrith and
  • (j) RSRL Harwell.

An explanatory statement accompanying the rejected new clause stated:

  • This new schedule would exclude employees of the listed companies operated by the private sector from the scope of the proposed cap on exit payments.

The rejected new schedule was presumably intended to take effect via the related amendment 16 which stated:

  • in clause 41, page 57, line 27, at end insert—
  • “(10A) Nothing in this section applies in relation to payments made by the bodies listed in NS1.”.


Debate in Parliament |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con290 (+2 tell) 0088.5%
DUP0 3037.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 1033.3%
Lab0 201 (+2 tell)087.9%
LDem0 7087.5%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 2066.7%
SNP0 48088.9%
UUP1 0050.0%
Total:291 266087.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive