[S1M-772] Decision Time — 27 Apr 2000 at 17:06

This looks like the vote on S1M-772

The description in the bulletin on 2000-04-25 is:

*S1M-772 Tommy Sheridan: Abolition of Poindings and Warrant Sales Bill—That the Parliament agrees to the general principles of the Abolition of Poindings and Warrant Sales Bill.  

The description in the bulletin on 2000-04-27 is:

S1M-772 Abolition of Poindings and Warrant Sales Bill (lodged on 20 April 2000) Alex Neil*  

You can search for this motion (S1M-772) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The third question is, that motion S1M-772, in the name of Tommy Sheridan, on the general principles of the Abolition of Poindings and Warrant Sales Bill, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 15184.2%
Green1 00100.0%
Independent3 00100.0%
Lab39 01598.2%
LDem2 014100.0%
SNP33 00100.0%
SSP1 00100.0%
Total:79 153096.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Murray ToshSouth of ScotlandConabstention
Wendy AlexanderPaisley NorthLababstention
Jackie BaillieDumbartonLababstention
Sarah BoyackEdinburgh CentralLababstention
Rhona BrankinMidlothianLababstention
Susan DeaconEdinburgh East and MusselburghLababstention
Donald DewarGlasgow AnnieslandLababstention
Sam GalbraithStrathkelvin and BearsdenLababstention
Iain GrayEdinburgh PentlandsLababstention
John Home RobertsonEast LothianLababstention
Angus MacKayEdinburgh SouthLababstention
Frank McAveetyGlasgow ShettlestonLababstention
Tom McCabeHamilton SouthLababstention
Rt Hon Jack McConnellMotherwell and WishawLababstention
Henry McLeishCentral FifeLababstention
Peter PeacockHighlands and IslandsLababstention
John Farquhar MunroRoss, Skye and Inverness WestLDemaye
Euan RobsonRoxburgh and BerwickshireLDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive