Deferred Divisions — Adjournment (Christmas) — 13 Dec 2000

Dominic Grieve MP, Beaconsfield voted with the majority (Aye).

That this House, at its rising on Thursday 21st December, do adjourn till Monday 8th January 2001.

The House divided: Ayes 478, Noes 8.

Historical Hansard | Online Hansard |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con121 2076.9%
Independent1 0050.0%
Lab318 0076.4%
LDem34 1074.5%
PC0 2050.0%
SNP0 2033.3%
UUP3 0144.4%
Total:477 7175.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Christopher ChopeChristchurchCon (front bench)no
David MacleanPenrith and The BorderConno
Nick HarveyNorth DevonLDem (front bench)no
Mr William RossEast LondonderryUUPboth

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

TWe're working on updating the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive