European Communities (Amendment) Bill — 22 Jan 2002 at 18:29

moved Amendment No. 18:

After Clause 3, insert the following new clause-


(1) This Act shall not come into effect until Her Majesty's Government have communicated to every household in the United Kingdom the constitutional and governmental effects of the Treaty of Nice.

(2) A communication under subsection (1) shall be-

(a) in writing,

(b) in plain English,

(c) in popular form, and

(d) impartial."

On Question, Whether the said amendment (No. 18) shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 89; Not-Contents, 164.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Con0 74 (+1 tell)33.8%
Crossbench8 1010.3%
Independent Labour0 1100.0%
Lab113 (+2 tell) 159.8%
LDem40 0 (+1 tell)62.1%
Other1 05.6%
UUP0 150.0%
Total:162 8737.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Ampthill Crossbenchno
Lord Currie of MaryleboneCrossbenchno
Baroness Greengross Crossbenchno
Lord Hannay of ChiswickCrossbenchno
Baroness Howarth of BrecklandCrossbenchno
The Earl of ListowelCrossbenchno
Lord Patel Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Weidenfeld Crossbenchno
Lord Bruce of DoningtonLabaye
Lord Phillips of SudburyLDem (front bench)tellaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive