Electricity (Miscellaneous Provisions) Bill — Clause 4 — Undertakings to Make Grants Under Schedule 12 to be Disregarded for Tax Purposes — 6 Feb 2003 at 17:59

Oliver Letwin MP, West Dorset did not vote.

I beg to move, That the Bill be now read the Third time.

I thank Members on both sides of the House for another lively and interesting set of debates. What with our recent Second Reading debate and today's proceedings, we have given the Bill's key principles a thorough airing. There was a slight frisson of excitement on the Opposition Benches as we concluded our previous debate, and perhaps I should clarify the point of order raised by the hon. Member for Reigate (Mr. Blunt). I was referring in particular to clause 3, which, as I said, is generic. The hon. Gentleman's misunderstanding might stem from the fact that although clause 1 relates exclusively to British Energy, the rest of the Bill is not framed so specifically. I hope that that provides him with the explanation that he seeks.

It being Six o'clock, Mr. Deputy Speaker put forthwith the Question already proposed from the Chair, pursuant to Orders [29 October 2002 and 27 January 2003].

The House divided: Ayes 274, Noes 157.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con0 114 (+2 tell)071.2%
DUP0 2040.0%
Independent Conservative0 10100.0%
Lab272 (+2 tell) 0066.8%
LDem0 32060.4%
PC0 3075.0%
SNP0 50100.0%
UUP2 0033.3%
Total:274 157067.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive