Motion A — 28 Feb 2006 at 17:00

rose to move, as an amendment to Motion A, leave out from "House" to end and insert "do insist on its Amendments 5, 11, 28, 31 and 34 and do disagree with Amendment 34B proposed by the Commons in lieu; but do not insist on its Amendments 15 and 32 and do agree with Amendment 34A proposed by the Commons in lieu".

On Question, Whether the said amendment shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 160; Not-Contents, 156.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop3 011.5%
Con56 026.7%
Crossbench36 1528.0%
Green1 0100.0%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Lab6 137 (+2 tell)68.4%
LDem50 (+2 tell) 070.3%
UUP1 0100.0%
Total:154 15243.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by name

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Ahmed Labaye
Lord Berkeley Labaye
Lord Bhatia Crossbenchno
Lord Chorley Crossbenchno
Baroness Deech Crossbenchno
Lord Evans of ParksideLabaye
Baroness Fritchie Crossbenchno
Lord Hannay of ChiswickCrossbench (front bench)no
Baroness Howarth of BrecklandCrossbenchno
Baroness Kennedy of The ShawsLabaye
Lord Kerr of KinlochardCrossbenchno
Lord Lewis of NewnhamCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Marsh Crossbenchno
Lord Patel Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Patel of BlackburnLabaye
Lord Powell of BayswaterCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Quirk Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Robertson of Port EllenCrossbenchno
Lord Sheldon Lab (minister)aye
Viscount Tenby Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Walton of DetchantCrossbenchno
Lord Williamson of HortonCrossbench (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive