House of Lords: Reform (Fully Appointed) — 14 Mar 2007 at 15:32

On Question, Whether the said Motion shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 361; Not-Contents, 121.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop5 019.2%
Con140 (+1 tell) 1475.2%
Crossbench88 1454.3%
DUP3 0100.0%
Green1 0100.0%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Judge0 19.1%
Lab99 (+1 tell) 47 (+1 tell)69.8%
LDem15 41 (+1 tell)73.1%
UKIP2 0100.0%
UUP1 0100.0%
Total:355 11765.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by vote

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Bradshaw LDem (front bench)aye
Lord Carlile of BerriewLDemaye
Viscount Falkland LDem (front bench)aye
The Earl of GlasgowLDem (front bench)aye
Lord Lee of TraffordLDem (front bench)aye
Lord Mackie of BenshieLDemaye
Lord Methuen LDem (front bench)aye
Lord Rodgers of Quarry BankLDemaye
Lord Russell-Johnston LDemaye
Lord Sandberg LDem (front bench)aye
Lord Steel of AikwoodLDemaye
Lord Taverne LDem (front bench)aye
Baroness Thomas of WalliswoodLDem (front bench)aye
Lord Tordoff LDem (front bench)aye
Lord Watson of RichmondLDem (front bench)aye
Lord Adonis Lab (minister)no
Lord Alton of LiverpoolCrossbenchno
Baroness Amos Lab (minister)no
Lord Baker of DorkingConno
Lord Bernstein of CraigweilLabno
Lord Brett Labno
Lord Brooke of AlverthorpeLab (minister)no
Lord Campbell-Savours Labno
Viscount Chandos Labno
Lord Clark of WindermereLabno
The Earl of CourtownConno
Lord Davies of OldhamLab (minister)no
Lord Desai Labno
Lord Dixon-Smith Con (front bench)no
Lord Dubs Lab (minister)tellno
Lord Elis-Thomas Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Elystan-Morgan Crossbenchno
Lord Falconer of ThorotonLab (minister)no
Baroness Farrington of RibbletonLab (minister)no
Lord Fyfe of FairfieldLabno
Baroness Gale Lab (minister)no
Lord Gould of BrookwoodLab (minister)no
Lord Graham of EdmontonLab (minister)no
Lord Haskel Lab (minister)no
Lord Haskins Crossbenchno
Lord Hattersley Labno
Baroness Henig Lab (minister)no
Lord Henley Con (front bench)no
Baroness Hogg Conno
Lord Hollick Labno
Lord Howard of RisingCon (front bench)no
Lord Hoyle Labno
Lord Hughes of WoodsideLabno
Lord Hunt of Kings HeathLab (minister)no
Lord Hunt of WirralCon (front bench)no
Lord Jay of EwelmeCrossbench (front bench)no
Baroness Jay of PaddingtonLabno
Baroness Jones of WhitchurchLab (minister)no
Lord Leitch Labno
Lord Lloyd of BerwickCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Lyell of MarkyateConno
Lord Mancroft Con (front bench)no
Lord May of OxfordCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord McIntosh of HaringeyLabno
Baroness Meacher Crossbenchno
Lord Mitchell Lab (minister)no
Viscount Montgomery of AlameinCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Morgan Labno
Lord Morris of ManchesterLabno
Lord Moynihan Con (front bench)no
Lord Ouseley Crossbenchno
Lord Owen Crossbenchno
Lord Parekh Labno
Lord Plant of HighfieldLab (minister)no
Lord Prior Conno
Lord Prys-Davies Labno
Baroness Quin Lab (minister)no
Lord Renton of Mount HarryCon (front bench)no
Lord Richard Lab (minister)no
Lord Robertson of Port EllenCrossbenchno
Lord Sawyer Labno
The Earl of SelborneCon (front bench)no
Lord Soley Labno
Lord Stone of BlackheathLabno
Lord Strabolgi Labno
Lord Strathclyde Con (front bench)no
Lord Thomas of MacclesfieldLabno
Baroness Thornton Labno
Lord Triesman Lab (minister)no
Lord Turnbull Crossbenchno
Lord Turner of EcchinswellCrossbench (front bench)no
Baroness Uddin Lab (minister)no
Lord Warner Labno
Lord Watson of InvergowrieLabno
Baroness Whitaker Labno
Lord Whitty Labno
Lord Wilson of TillyornCrossbenchno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

TWe're working on updating the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive