Lisbon Treaty — Amendment to proposed Commons timetable for debate — rejected — 28 Jan 2008 at 21:45

Theresa May MP, Maidenhead voted in the minority (Aye).

The majority No voters rejected an opposition amendment[1] to the Government's 'programme motion'[2].

The programme motion restricted the Commons to a set timetable for debating the European Union (Amendment) Bill, which implements the Lisbon Treaty. The amendment would have increased the number of days allotted for the debate, and increased the proportion of each day spent debating amendments to the bill.

Consequently, the amendment was intended to delay the passing of the European Union (Amendment) Bill.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a not-for-profit free service. However, it does cost us money to 'keep the lights on'. To do this cheaply, we get our 100% renewable electricity from Bulb - who tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six' electricity suppliers and will give us and YOU £50 credit if you switch your gas and electricity to them using our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con0 173 (+2 tell)090.2%
DUP0 3033.3%
Independent0 2050.0%
Independent Labour0 10100.0%
Lab303 (+2 tell) 7088.6%
LDem0 52082.5%
PC0 30100.0%
SNP0 3050.0%
Total:303 244087.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabaye
Ian DavidsonGlasgow South WestLab (minister)aye
Frank FieldBirkenheadLabaye
Roger GodsiffBirmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabaye
Kate HoeyVauxhallLab (minister)aye
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLab (minister)aye
Graham StringerManchester, BlackleyLab (minister)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. We're working on updating the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive