Pensions Bill — New Clause 8 — Review To Determine Pension Entitlements for Women Born on or After 6 April 1951 — 29 Oct 2013 at 18:00

Oliver Letwin MP, West Dorset did not vote.

The majority of MPs voted against a review to determine whether all women born on or after 6 April 1951 should be included within the scope of new state pension arrangements to be established by the Pensions Bill.

The Bill contains provisions to move the state pension to a single-component flat-rate pension from the current system of a basic rate, based on number of year's national insurance contributions, and an additional state pension based on earnings before retirement.

The Bill also brings the increase in the pensionable age from 66 to 67 forward by eight years. The Bill provides for the increase to begin in 2026 and end in 2028.

One MP, Caroline Lucas (Brighton, Pavilion) who expressed support for New Clause 8 during the debate explained she was concerned with[1]:

  • the group of women who will not qualify for the single-tier pension, whereas men with the same date of birth will.

MPs were considering the Pensions Bill[2]. The motion rejected in this vote was:

  • That the clause be added to the Bill.

The clause in question was New Clause 8[3], titled Review in relation to women born on or after 6 April 1951, it stated:

  • (1) The Secretary of State shall conduct a review to determine whether all women born on or after 6 April 1951 should be included within the scope of the new state pension arrangements established by this Act.
  • (2) The Secretary of State must prepare and publish a report on the review within six months of Royal Assent of this Act and must lay a copy of the report before Parliament


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con246 (+1 tell) 0081.0%
DUP0 5062.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent1 10100.0%
Lab0 212 (+2 tell)082.9%
LDem48 (+1 tell) 0087.5%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 30100.0%
SNP0 5083.3%
Total:295 231082.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive