Wales Bill — New Clause 1 — Consider Basing Welsh Public Funding on Need — 6 May 2014 at 21:00

The majority of MPs voted against reviewing the system for allocating public money to Wales and against considering calculating funding on the basis of need rather than the current system current system, known as the Barnett Formula, which involves applying funding changes based on population share.

MPs were considering the Wales Bill[1]. The proposed new clause rejected by the majority of MPs was:

  • Review of options for Barnett formula reform
  • ‘(1) The Secretary of State shall make arrangements for a review of options for reforming the Barnett formula in order to meet the objective of calculating the block grant funding for Wales on the basis of need.
  • (2) The Secretary of State shall lay a copy of the report of the review mentioned in subsection (1) before each House of Parliament within six months of this Act receiving Royal Assent.’

The Barnett formula is the distribution of changes to funding for matters which are the responsibility of the devolved administrations on the basis of population share (rather than being based on need as the rejected review would have considered).

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con221 (+2 tell) 0073.4%
DUP2 0025.0%
Green0 0 (+1 tell)0100.0%
Independent0 1050.0%
Lab0 000.0%
LDem37 0066.1%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 1 (+1 tell)066.7%
Total:260 5042.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by vote

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive