European Union (Withdrawal) Act 2018 — Prioritising Debate on Withdrawal in the House of Commons — Enabling MPs to Amend Motions — 29 Jan 2019 at 19:00

The majority of MPs voted to prioritise debating the United Kingdom's withdrawal from the European Union, and its future relationship with the union, in the House of Commons on six specified days in February and March 2019. The majority of MPs also voted to empower MPs to make amendments to the motion being considered and to ensure any votes required took place following the debate.

MPs were considering a motion stating:

The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment (g), at end, add—
  • “and orders that on 12 and 26 February and 5, 12, 19 and 26 March 2019—
  • (a) Standing Order No. 14(1) which provides that government business shall have precedence at every sitting save as provided in that order) shall not apply;
  • (b) a Motion in the name of the Chairman of Ways and Means “That this House has considered the United Kingdom’s departure from, and future relationship with, the European Union” shall stand as the first item of business;
  • (c) Standing Order No. 24B (Amendments to motions to consider specified matters) shall not apply to such motions;
  • (d) proceedings on the motion may continue for up to six and a half hours after its commencement, though opposed, and shall not be interrupted at the moment of interruption; and Standing Order No. 41A (Deferred divisions) will not apply; and
  • (e) at the conclusion of those proceedings, the Speaker shall put the questions necessary to dispose of proceedings on the motion, which shall include the questions on any amendments selected by the Speaker, which may then be moved.”

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con294 (+2 tell) 15098.1%
DUP10 00100.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent3 3075.0%
Lab14 232 (+2 tell)096.9%
LDem0 110100.0%
PC0 40100.0%
SNP0 350100.0%
Total:321 301097.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by name

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Heidi AllenSouth CambridgeshireCon (front bench)aye
Ian AustinDudley NorthLab (minister)no
Kevin BarronRother ValleyLab (minister)no
Guto BebbAberconwyCon (front bench)aye
Nicholas BolesGrantham and StamfordConaye
Ronnie CampbellBlyth ValleyLabno
Kenneth ClarkeRushcliffeCon (front bench)aye
Rosie CooperWest LancashireLab (minister)no
Jonathan DjanoglyHuntingdonCon (front bench)aye
Jim FitzpatrickPoplar and LimehouseLabno
Caroline FlintDon ValleyLab (minister)no
Roger GodsiffBirmingham, Hall GreenLabno
Justine GreeningPutneyConaye
Dominic GrieveBeaconsfieldCon (front bench)aye
Sam GyimahEast SurreyCon (front bench)aye
Stephen HepburnJarrowLab (minister)no
Kate HoeyVauxhallLab (minister)no
Phillip LeeBracknellConaye
Oliver LetwinWest DorsetConaye
John MannBassetlawLab (minister)no
Antoinette SandbachEddisburyCon (front bench)aye
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabno
Laura SmithCrewe and NantwichLab (minister)no
Gareth SnellStoke-on-Trent CentralLab (minister)no
Nicholas SoamesMid SussexConaye
Anna SoubryBroxtoweCon (front bench)aye
Graham StringerBlackley and BroughtonLab (minister)no
Ed VaizeyWantageCon (front bench)aye
Sarah WollastonTotnesCon (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

TWe're working on updating the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive