Freedom of Information Bill — Discretionary disclosures — 5 Apr 2000

Tommy Graham MP, West Renfrewshire voted in the minority (Aye).

The Majority voted against a change to parts of the Freedom of Information Bill relating to formulation of government policy and conduct of public affairs[1], in particular the deletion of a subsection which said, in summary:

A certificate signed by the Speaker of the House of Commons certifying that in his reasonable opinion disclosure of information held by Parliament would likely prejudice the convention of the collective responsibility of Ministers of the Crown, or inhibit the free and frank provision of advice shall be conclusive evidence of that fact.[2]

Historical Hansard | Online Hansard |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con0 127079.4%
Ind0 1033.3%
Ind Lab0 10100.0%
Lab311 (+2 tell) 35 (+1 tell)083.9%
LDem0 34 (+1 tell)076.1%
PC0 1025.0%
UUP0 3030.0%
Total:311 202080.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr Tony BennChesterfieldLabaye
Mr Ronnie CampbellBlyth ValleyLabtellaye
Dr David ClarkSouth ShieldsLabaye
Ms Ann ClwydCynon ValleyLabaye
Mr Harry CohenLeyton and WansteadLabaye
Mr Frank CookStockton NorthLabaye
Mr Robin CorbettBirmingham, ErdingtonLabaye
Mr Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabaye
Mr Jim CousinsNewcastle upon Tyne CentralLabaye
Mr Tam DalyellLinlithgowLabaye
Mrs Gwyneth DunwoodyCrewe and NantwichLabaye
Mr Mark FisherStoke-on-Trent CentralLabaye
Mr Derek FosterBishop AucklandLabaye
Mr Neil GerrardWalthamstowLabaye
Mr Patrick HallBedfordLabaye
Mr David HinchliffeWakefieldLabaye
Mr Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabaye
Mr Jon Owen JonesCardiff CentralLabaye
Dr Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabaye
Mr Andrew LoveEdmontonLabaye
Mr Andrew MacKinlayThurrockLabaye
Mrs Alice MahonHalifaxLabaye
Dr Jim MarshallLeicester SouthLabaye
Mr Robert Marshall-AndrewsMedwayLabaye
Mr John McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabaye
Mr Bill MichieSheffield, HeeleyLabaye
Ms Julie MorganCardiff NorthLabaye
Mr Gordon PrenticePendleLabaye
Mr Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabaye
Mr Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabaye
Mr Llew SmithBlaenau GwentLabaye
Mrs Betty WilliamsConwyLabaye
Mr David WinnickWalsall NorthLabaye
Mr Mike WoodBatley and SpenLabaye
Dr Tony WrightCannock ChaseLabaye
Mr Derek WyattSittingbourne and SheppeyLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive