Election of Speaker — 23 Oct 2000

Tony Wright MP, Cannock Chase voted in the minority (Aye).

I beg to move, as an amendment to the Question, to leave out "Mr. Michael J. Martin" and insert thereof "Sir George Young".

23 Oct 2000 : Column 39

a man of grave deportment, and good morals but looked upon as a violent Tory.

The Election of the Speaker is still very uncertain, for at least twenty of Mr. Smith's friends are absent.

a purse of 1000 guineas as a token of her satisfaction of his choice.

Question put, That the amendment be made:--

The House divided: Ayes 241, Noes 317.

Historical Hansard | Online Hansard |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con4 129 (+1 tell)083.8%
DUP0 1033.3%
Independent2 10100.0%
Independent Labour1 00100.0%
Lab295 (+2 tell) 70 (+1 tell)189.1%
LDem8 28076.6%
PC1 30100.0%
SDLP1 0033.3%
SNP3 2083.3%
UKUP0 10100.0%
UUP0 5055.6%
Total:315 240186.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

William CashStoneCon (front bench)no
Gillian ShephardSouth West NorfolkConno
John WilkinsonRuislip - NorthwoodConno
Ann WintertonCongletonConno
Graham AllenNottingham NorthLab (minister)aye
Donald AndersonSwansea EastLabaye
Hilary ArmstrongNorth West DurhamLab (minister)aye
Margaret BeckettDerby SouthLab (minister)aye
Stuart BellMiddlesbroughLab (minister)aye
Andrew BennettDenton and ReddishLabaye
Clive BettsSheffield, AttercliffeLab (minister)aye
Liz BlackmanErewashLabaye
David BlunkettSheffield, BrightsideLab (minister)aye
Dale Campbell-SavoursWorkingtonLabaye
Ivor CaplinHoveLabaye
Ian CawseyBrigg and GooleLabaye
Helen ClarkPeterboroughLabaye
Charles ClarkeNorwich SouthLab (minister)aye
Vernon CoakerGedlingLabaye
John DenhamSouthampton, ItchenLab (minister)aye
Frank FieldBirkenheadLabaye
Mark FisherStoke-on-Trent CentralLabaye
Lorna FitzsimonsRochdaleLabaye
Derek FosterBishop AucklandLabaye
Jane GriffithsReading EastLabaye
John GroganSelbyLabaye
Patricia HewittLeicester WestLab (minister)aye
Keith HillStreathamLab (minister)aye
Margaret HodgeBarkingLab (minister)aye
Kate HoeyVauxhallLab (minister)aye
Alan HowarthNewport EastLab (minister)aye
Lindsay HoyleChorleyLab (minister)aye
Beverley HughesStretford and UrmstonLab (minister)aye
Helen JacksonSheffield, HillsboroughLabaye
David JamiesonPlymouth, DevonportLab (minister)aye
Alan JohnsonKingston upon Hull West and HessleLab (minister)aye
Melanie JohnsonWelwyn HatfieldLab (minister)aye
Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabaye
Sally KeebleNorthampton NorthLabaye
Ruth KellyBolton WestLabaye
Jane KennedyLiverpool, WavertreeLab (minister)aye
David LockWyre ForestLab (minister)aye
Denis MacShaneRotherhamLabaye
Fiona MactaggartSloughLabaye
Peter MandelsonHartlepoolLab (minister)aye
Paul MarsdenShrewsbury and AtchamLabaye
Jim MarshallLeicester SouthLabaye
Robert Marshall-AndrewsMedwayLabaye
Andrew MillerEllesmere Port and NestonLabaye
Austin MitchellGreat GrimsbyLab (minister)aye
Elliot MorleyScunthorpeLab (minister)aye
John MorrisAberavonLabaye
Ian PearsonDudley SouthLabaye
Peter PikeBurnleyLabaye
Greg PopeHyndburnLab (minister)aye
Giles RadiceNorth DurhamLabaye
Bill RammellHarlowLabaye
Nick RaynsfordGreenwich and WoolwichLab (minister)aye
Andy ReedLoughboroughLabaye
Martin SalterReading WestLabtellaye
Robert SheldonAshton-under-LyneLabaye
Clive SoleyEaling, Acton and Shepherd's BushLabaye
Phyllis StarkeyMilton Keynes South WestLabaye
Jack StrawBlackburnLab (minister)aye
Graham StringerManchester, BlackleyLab (minister)aye
Gisela StuartBirmingham, EdgbastonLab (minister)aye
Ann TaylorDewsburyLab (minister)aye
Peter Temple-MorrisLeominsterwhilst Labaye
Stephen TimmsEast HamLab (minister)aye
Paddy TippingSherwoodLab (minister)aye
Mark ToddSouth DerbyshireLabaye
George TurnerNorth West NorfolkLabaye
Stephen TwiggEnfield, SouthgateLab (minister)aye
Keith VazLeicester EastLab (minister)aye
Tony WrightCannock ChaseLabaye
Ben BradshawExeterLab (minister)both
Richard AllanSheffield, HallamLDemno
Malcolm BruceGordonLDem (front bench)no
Brian CotterWeston-Super-MareLDemno
Andrew GeorgeSt IvesLDem (front bench)no
Sandra GidleyRomseyLDemno
Mike HancockPortsmouth SouthLDem (front bench)no
David HeathSomerton and FromeLDem (front bench)no
Richard LivseyBrecon and RadnorshireLDemno
Ieuan Wyn JonesYnys MônPCno
Roseanna CunninghamPerthSNPaye
Alasdair MorganGalloway and Upper NithsdaleSNPaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive