Deferred Divisions — Fisheries: Total Allowable Catches and Quotas 2001 — 13 Dec 2000

John Randall MP, Uxbridge voted both ways.

That this House takes note of the Unnumbered Explanatory Memorandum of 28th November relating to the fixing of fishing opportunities for 2001 and certain conditions under which they may be fished; recognises that a number of fish stocks have fallen to particularly low levels; and supports the Government's intention to sustain stocks for the future, and assist recovery of those stocks which are in danger of collapse, while negotiating the best possible fishing opportunities for UK fishermen.

The House divided: Ayes 437, Noes 86.

Historical Hansard | Online Hansard |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con2 57752.5%
Independent1 0050.0%
Lab318 0076.4%
LDem35 0074.5%
PC2 0050.0%
SNP2 0033.3%
UUP0 4044.4%
Total:360 97769.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Geoffrey Johnson SmithWealdenConaye
Richard SpringWest SuffolkConaye
Peter AinsworthEast SurreyConboth
David AmessSouthend WestCon (front bench)both
Michael AncramDevizesConboth
James ArbuthnotNorth East HampshireCon (front bench)both
Peter AtkinsonHexhamConboth
John BercowBuckinghamCon (front bench)both
Paul BeresfordMole ValleyCon (front bench)both
Tim BoswellDaventryConboth
Virginia BottomleySouth West SurreyConboth
Graham BradyAltrincham and Sale WestCon (front bench)both
Peter BrookeCities of London and WestminsterConboth
Angela BrowningTiverton and HonitonConboth
John ButterfillBournemouth WestConboth
Sydney ChapmanChipping BarnetConboth
Geoffrey Clifton-BrownCotswoldCon (front bench)both
James CranBeverley and HoldernessConboth
David DavisHaltemprice and HowdenCon (front bench)both
Stephen DayCheadleConboth
Stephen DorrellCharnwoodConboth
Iain Duncan SmithChingford and Woodford GreenCon (front bench)both
Nigel EvansRibble ValleyCon (front bench)both
David FaberWestburyConboth
Michael FabricantLichfieldCon (front bench)both
Liam FoxWoodspringCon (front bench)both
Roger GaleNorth ThanetCon (front bench)both
Teresa GormanBillericayConboth
James GrayNorth WiltshireConboth
Damian GreenAshfordCon (front bench)both
John GreenwayRyedaleConboth
Dominic GrieveBeaconsfieldCon (front bench)both
William HagueRichmond (Yorks)Con (front bench)both
Nick HawkinsSurrey HeathConboth
Douglas HoggSleaford and North HykehamConboth
John HoramOrpingtonConboth
Michael JackFyldeConboth
Bernard JenkinNorth EssexCon (front bench)both
Tom KingBridgwaterConboth
Julie KirkbrideBromsgroveConboth
Eleanor LaingEpping ForestCon (front bench)both
Edward LeighGainsboroughCon (front bench)both
Peter LilleyHitchin and HarpendenConboth
Peter LuffMid WorcestershireCon (front bench)both
David MadelSouth West BedfordshireConboth
John MajorHuntingdonConboth
John MaplesStratford-on-AvonConboth
Michael MatesEast HampshireConboth
Brian MawhinneyNorth West CambridgeshireConboth
Theresa MayMaidenheadCon (front bench)both
Anne McIntoshVale of YorkCon (front bench)both
Patrick McLoughlinWest DerbyshireCon (front bench)both
Archie NormanTunbridge WellsConboth
Stephen O'BrienEddisburyCon (front bench)both
Richard OttawayCroydon SouthCon (front bench)both
David PriorNorth NorfolkConboth
John RandallUxbridgeCon (front bench)both
John RedwoodWokinghamConboth
Laurence RobertsonTewkesburyCon (front bench)both
Andrew RoweFaversham and Mid KentConboth
Jonathan SayeedMid BedfordshireConboth
Keith SimpsonMid NorfolkCon (front bench)both
Michael SpicerWest WorcestershireConboth
Nick St AubynGuildfordConboth
Desmond SwayneNew Forest WestCon (front bench)both
Peter TapsellLouth and HorncastleConboth
Ian TaylorEsher and WaltonConboth
Teddy TaylorRochford and Southend EastConboth
John TownendEast YorkshireConboth
Michael TrendWindsorConboth
Robert WalterNorth DorsetConboth
Bowen WellsHertford and StortfordConboth
Ray WhitneyWycombeConboth
John WhittingdaleMaldon and East ChelmsfordConboth
David WillettsHavantCon (front bench)both
Ann WintertonCongletonConboth
Nicholas WintertonMacclesfieldConboth
Tim YeoSouth SuffolkCon (front bench)both
George YoungNorth West HampshireConboth

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive