Human Fertilisation and Embryology (Research Purposes) Regulations 2000 — 22 Jan 2001 at 22:13

Lord Bell voted in the minority (Content).

rose to move, That the draft regulations laid before the House on 12th December be approved [33rd Report from the Joint Committee, Session 1999-2000].

rose to move, as an amendment to the Motion to approve the draft regulations, to leave out all the words after "That" and insert "this House declines to approve the draft regulations laid before the House on 12th December until a Select Committee of the House of Lords has reported on the issues connected with human cloning and stem cell research".

On Question, Whether the said amendment shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 92; Not-Contents, 212.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop0 27.7%
Con41 59 (+1 tell)45.9%
Green0 1100.0%
Ind Lab0 1100.0%
Lab96 (+1 tell) 854.7%
LDem37 (+1 tell) 264.5%
Other1 213.6%
UUP1 050.0%
Crossbench34 15 (+1 tell)31.3%
Total:210 9044.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Alexander of WeedonConno
Earl Attlee Conno
Lord Baker of DorkingConno
Lord Blaker Conno
Lord Bowness Conno
Lord Brittan of SpennithorneConno
Lord Burnham Conno
Baroness Buscombe Conno
Lord Carlisle of BucklowConno
Lord Colwyn Conno
Lord Dixon-Smith Conno
Baroness Flather Conno
Lord Forsyth of DrumleanConno
Lord Harris of PeckhamConno
Lord Hodgson of Astley AbbottsConno
Lord Howell of GuildfordConno
Lord Hunt of WirralConno
Lord Inglewood Conno
Earl Jellicoe Conno
Lord Jenkin of RodingConno
Lord Jopling Conno
Lord Lamont of LerwickConno
Lord Lawson of BlabyConno
Lord Lloyd-Webber Conno
Lord Luke Conno
Lord Moynihan Conno
Baroness Noakes Conno
Lord Norton of LouthConno
The Earl of OnslowConno
Baroness Perry of SouthwarkConno
Lord Peyton of YeovilConno
Lord Plumb Conno
Lord Prior Conno
Lord Reay Conno
Lord Roberts of ConwyConno
The Earl of SelborneConno
Lord Shaw of NorthsteadConno
Lord Soulsby of Swaffham PriorConno
Lord Tugendhat Conno
Lord Wade of ChorltonConno
Lord Wolfson Conno
Lord Ahmed Labaye
Lord Blease Labaye
Lord Brennan Labaye
Lord Clarke of HampsteadLabaye
Lord Cocks of HartcliffeLabaye
Lord Dixon Labaye
Lord Lofthouse of PontefractLabaye
The Earl of LongfordLabaye
Lord Phillips of SudburyLDemaye
Baroness Williams of CrosbyLDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive