Hunting Bill — 27 Feb 2001

Mr Teddy Taylor MP, Rochford and Southend East voted with the majority (Aye).

Order for Third Reading read.

I beg to move, That the Bill be now read the Third time.

Mr. Hogg:

On a point of order, Mr. Speaker. As you will know, 11 groups of amendments were before the House and it debated only two of them, which means that nine groups were either largely undiscussed or not discussed at all. Under the programme motion, I know that you, Mr. Speaker, must proceed to Third Reading, but it is within your discretion formally to inform the Lord Chancellor that this House has not properly or fully debated the Bill. I respectfully ask you to do that.

Question put, That the Bill be now read the Third time:--

The House divided: Ayes 319, Noes 140.

Historical Hansard | Online Hansard |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con5 120 (+2 tell)079.4%
DUP0 30100.0%
Lab294 (+2 tell) 2071.5%
LDem20 10063.8%
PC0 3075.0%
UUP0 2022.2%
Total:319 140072.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr David AmessSouthend WestConaye
Mr Stephen DayCheadleConaye
Mr Roger GaleNorth ThanetConaye
Mr Teddy TaylorRochford and Southend EastConaye
Miss Ann WiddecombeMaidstone and The WealdConaye
Mrs Llin GoldingNewcastle-under-LymeLabno
Ms Kate HoeyVauxhallLab (minister)no
Mr Alan BeithBerwick-upon-TweedLDemno
Mr John BurnettTorridge and West DevonLDemno
Mr Menzies CampbellNorth East FifeLDemno
Mr Nick HarveyNorth DevonLDemno
Mr Archy KirkwoodRoxburgh and BerwickshireLDemno
Mr Richard LivseyBrecon and RadnorshireLDemno
Mr Michael MooreTweeddale, Ettrick and LauderdaleLDemno
Mr Lembit ÖpikMontgomeryshireLDemno
Sir Robert SmithWest Aberdeenshire and KincardineLDemno
Mr Paul TylerNorth CornwallLDemno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive