Select Committees — Accommodation and Works — Treasury — 16 Jul 2001 at 19:16

George Osborne MP, Tatton voted in the minority (Aye).

Motion made, and Question proposed,

That Mr. Nigel Beard, Mr. Jim Cousins, Mr. Michael Fallon, Mr. David Laws, Mr. John McFall, Kali Mountford, Mr. George Mudie, Dr Nick Palmer, Mr. James Plaskitt, Mr. David Ruffley and Mr. Andrew Tyrie be members of the Treasury Committee.-<[i>Mr. McWilliam, on behalf of the Committee of Selection.]

Manuscript amendment proposed: Line 1, leave out "Mr. David Laws" and insert "Mr. Alex Salmond".-<[i>Mr. Salmond.]

The House divided: Ayes 52, Noes 351.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con13 43034.1%
DUP3 0060.0%
Independent1 00100.0%
Lab293 (+2 tell) 2072.3%
LDem41 0078.8%
PC0 2 (+1 tell)075.0%
SNP0 3 (+1 tell)080.0%
UUP0 2033.3%
Total:351 52062.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Christopher ChopeChristchurchCon (front bench)no
Mr Peter DuncanGalloway and Upper NithsdaleConno
Nigel EvansRibble ValleyCon (front bench)no
Mr Howard FlightArundel and South Downswhilst Conno
John HoramOrpingtonConno
Edward LeighGainsboroughCon (front bench)no
Oliver LetwinWest DorsetCon (front bench)no
Andrew MacKayBracknellConno
Patrick MercerNewarkConno
Andrew MurrisonWestburyCon (front bench)no
John RedwoodWokinghamConno
Anthony SteenTotnesConno
Robert SymsPooleCon (front bench)no
Paul FlynnNewport WestLabaye
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLab (minister)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive