Payment for Chairmen — 14 May 2002 at 20:13

Motion made and Question put,

That, in the opinion of this House, the Review Body on Senior Salaries should be invited to consider what additional remuneration is appropriate for chairmen of select committees.-<[i>Mr. Robin Cook.]

The House divided: Ayes 199, Noes 158.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con80 21061.6%
Lab108 (+2 tell) 109 (+2 tell)053.9%
LDem8 23058.5%
PC3 10100.0%
SNP0 4080.0%
Total:199 158056.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by name

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mrs Irene AdamsPaisley NorthLabaye
Mr Nick AingerCarmarthen West and South PembrokeshireLab (minister)aye
Mr Graham AllenNottingham NorthLabaye
Mr David AmessSouthend WestConno
Mr Donald AndersonSwansea EastLabaye
Ms Candy AthertonFalmouth and CamborneLabaye
Mr Peter AtkinsonHexhamConno
Mr Adrian BaileyWest Bromwich WestLabaye
Mr Tony BaldryBanburyConno
Mr Nigel BeardBexleyheath and CrayfordLabaye
Miss Anne BeggAberdeen SouthLabaye
Mr Hilary BennLeeds CentralLabaye
Mr Clive BettsSheffield, AttercliffeLabaye
Mrs Liz BlackmanErewashLabaye
Ms Hazel BlearsSalfordLabaye
Mr Peter BottomleyWorthing WestConno
Mr Keith BradleyManchester, WithingtonLab (minister)aye
Mr Kevin BrennanCardiff WestLabaye
Mr Malcolm BruceGordonLDemaye
Mr Chris BryantRhonddaLabaye
Ms Karen BuckRegent's Park and Kensington NorthLabaye
Mr Andy BurnhamLeighLabaye
Mrs Anne CampbellCambridgeLabaye
Mr Menzies CampbellNorth East FifeLDemaye
Mr Roger CasaleWimbledonLabaye
Mr Ian CawseyBrigg and GooleLabaye
Mr David ChaytorBury NorthLabaye
Mr Christopher ChopeChristchurchConno
Dr Lynda ClarkEdinburgh PentlandsLab (minister)aye
Mr Tony ClarkeNorthampton SouthLabaye
Mr Geoffrey Clifton-BrownCotswoldConno
Ms Ann CoffeyStockportLabaye
Mr Robin CookLivingstonLab (minister)aye
Ms Jean CorstonBristol EastLabaye
Professor Ross CranstonDudley NorthLabaye
Mr Jon CruddasDagenhamLabaye
Mr John CummingsEasingtonLabaye
Mr David CurrySkipton and RiponConno
Ms Claire Curtis-ThomasCrosbyLabaye
Mr Edward DaveyKingston and SurbitonLDemaye
Mr Wayne DavidCaerphillyLabaye
Mrs Janet DeanBurtonLabaye
Mr Frank DoranAberdeen CentralLabaye
Mr Alan DuncanRutland and MeltonConno
Mr Peter DuncanGalloway and Upper NithsdaleConno
Mr Huw EdwardsMonmouthLabaye
Mr Clive EffordElthamLabaye
Mr Mark FisherStoke-on-Trent CentralLabaye
Mr Jim FitzpatrickPoplar and Canning TownLabaye
Ms Lorna FitzsimonsRochdaleLabaye
Mr Paul FlynnNewport WestLabaye
Mrs Barbara FollettStevenageLabaye
Mr Michael Jabez FosterHastings and RyeLabaye
Mr Edward GarnierHarboroughConno
Ms Jane GriffithsReading EastLabaye
Mr David HamiltonMidlothianLabaye
Mr Tom HarrisGlasgow CathcartLabaye
Mr David Heathcoat-AmoryWellsConno
Mr John HeppellNottingham EastLab (minister)tellaye
Mr David HinchliffeWakefieldLabaye
Mr Mark HobanFarehamConno
Mrs Margaret HodgeBarkingLabaye
Mr George HowarthKnowsley North and Sefton EastLabaye
Mr John HuttonBarrow and FurnessLab (minister)aye
Dr Brian IddonBolton South EastLabaye
Mr Huw Irranca-DaviesOgmoreLabaye
Mr David JamiesonPlymouth, DevonportLab (minister)aye
Mr Martyn JonesClwyd SouthLabaye
Mr Alan KeenFeltham and HestonLabaye
Mr Fraser KempHoughton and Washington EastLab (minister)tellaye
Mr David KidneyStaffordLabaye
Mr Andy KingRugby and KenilworthLabaye
Ms Oona KingBethnal Green and BowLabaye
Mr Archy KirkwoodRoxburgh and BerwickshireLDemaye
Mr David LawsYeovilLDemaye
Mr Mark LazarowiczEdinburgh North and LeithLabaye
Mr Tom LevittHigh PeakLabaye
Mr Andrew LoveEdmontonLabaye
Mr Ian LucasWrexhamLabaye
Mr Denis MacShaneRotherhamLab (minister)aye
Mr Eric MartlewCarlisleLabaye
Ms Chris McCaffertyCalder ValleyLabaye
Mr John McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabaye
Mr John McFallDumbartonLabaye
Mrs Anne McGuireStirlingLabaye
Ms Ann McKechinGlasgow MaryhillLabaye
Mrs Rosemary McKennaCumbernauld and KilsythLabaye
Mr Tony McWalterHemel HempsteadLabaye
Mr David MilibandSouth ShieldsLabaye
Mrs Laura MoffattCrawleyLabaye
Mr Chris MoleIpswichLabaye
Dr Lewis MoonieKirkcaldyLab (minister)aye
Ms Julie MorganCardiff NorthLabaye
Mr Elliot MorleyScunthorpeLab (minister)aye
Ms Kali MountfordColne ValleyLabaye
Mr Chris MullinSunderland SouthLabaye
Mr Denis MurphyWansbeckLabaye
Dr Andrew MurrisonWestburyConno
Mr Lembit ÖpikMontgomeryshireLDemaye
Ms Sandra OsborneAyrLabaye
Mr Richard OttawayCroydon SouthConno
Mr Albert OwenYnys MônLabaye
Mr Peter PikeBurnleyLabaye
Mr James PlaskittWarwick and LeamingtonLabaye
Mr Greg PopeHyndburnLabaye
Mr Gordon PrenticePendleLabaye
Mr Ken PurchaseWolverhampton North EastLabaye
Mr James PurnellStalybridge and HydeLabaye
Mr Lawrie QuinnScarborough and WhitbyLabaye
Mr Andrew RobathanBlabyConno
Mr Chris RuaneVale of ClwydLabaye
Ms Joan RuddockLewisham, DeptfordLabaye
Mr Bob RussellColchesterLDemaye
Mr Martin SalterReading WestLabaye
Mr Phil SawfordKetteringLabaye
Mr Jonathan R ShawChatham and AylesfordLabaye
Mr Barry SheermanHuddersfieldLabaye
Ms Jacqui SmithRedditchLab (minister)aye
Ms Rachel SquireDunfermline WestLabaye
Mr John StanleyTonbridge and MallingConno
Mr David StewartInverness East, Nairn and LochaberLabaye
Mr Graham StringerManchester, BlackleyLabaye
Ms Gisela StuartBirmingham, EdgbastonLabaye
Mr Robert SymsPooleConno
Mr John TaylorSolihullConno
Mr Teddy TaylorRochford and Southend EastConno
Mr Gareth ThomasHarrow WestLabaye
Mr Stephen TimmsEast HamLabaye
Mr Paddy TippingSherwoodLabaye
Mr Paul TruswellPudseyLabaye
Mr Andrew TurnerIsle of WightConno
Mr Dennis TurnerWolverhampton South EastLabaye
Mr Stephen TwiggEnfield, SouthgateLabaye
Mr Bill TynanHamilton SouthLabaye
Mr Andrew TyrieChichesterConno
Mr Malcolm WicksCroydon NorthLab (minister)aye
Mr Alan WilliamsSwansea WestLabaye
Mr Hywel WilliamsCaernarfonPCno
Mr Roger WilliamsBrecon and RadnorshireLDemaye
Dr Tony WrightCannock ChaseLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive