Modernisation of the House of Commons — 29 Oct 2002 at 21:43

Mr Chris Mullin MP, Sunderland South voted in the minority (Aye).

I beg to move,

That this House approves the Second Report from the Select Committee on Modernisation of the House of Commons, and endorses its proposals, in particular for more effective law making by more routine publication of bills in draft for pre-legislative scrutiny, for consultation with Opposition parties on the broad shape of the legislative year and more flexibility in programming, for an annual House of Commons calendar which would allow honourable Members to plan work in their constituencies more effectively and provide sittings in September balanced by an earlier recess in July, for more effective use of the Chamber including more regular use of time limits on speeches, and a Parliament that is more accessible to the public that it serves.

Question put, That the amendment be made:-

The House divided: Ayes 150, Noes 394.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con15 123084.7%
DUP2 0040.0%
Ind1 00100.0%
Ind Con0 10100.0%
Lab321 (+2 tell) 20 (+2 tell)084.1%
LDem46 1088.7%
PC4 00100.0%
SNP5 00100.0%
UUP0 5083.3%
Total:394 150084.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr Richard BaconSouth NorfolkConno
Mr Crispin BluntReigateConno
Mr Derek ConwayOld Bexley and SidcupConno
Mr Mark FieldCities of London and WestminsterConno
Mr Dominic GrieveBeaconsfieldConno
Mr John HoramOrpingtonConno
Mr Edward LeighGainsboroughConno
Mr John MaplesStratford-on-AvonConno
Mr Archie NormanTunbridge WellsConno
Mr George OsborneTattonConno
Mr Richard OttawayCroydon SouthConno
Mr David TredinnickBosworthConno
Mr Andrew TyrieChichesterConno
Mr Nicholas WintertonMacclesfieldConno
Sir George YoungNorth West HampshireConno
Mr Harry BarnesNorth East DerbyshireLabaye
Mr Ivor CaplinHoveLabtellaye
Mr Tam DalyellLinlithgowLabaye
Mr Denzil DaviesLlanelliLabaye
Mr Jim DowdLewisham WestLabaye
Mrs Gwyneth DunwoodyCrewe and NantwichLabaye
Ms Kate HoeyVauxhallLabaye
Ms Helen JonesWarrington NorthLabaye
Mr Gerald KaufmanManchester, GortonLabaye
Mrs Jackie LawrencePreseli PembrokeshireLabaye
Mr Andrew MacKinlayThurrockLabaye
Mr David MarshallGlasgow ShettlestonLabaye
Mr Robert Marshall-AndrewsMedwayLabaye
Mr Tony McNultyHarrow EastLabaye
Mr Chris MullinSunderland SouthLabaye
Mr Jim MurphyEast RenfrewshireLabaye
Mr Bill OlnerNuneatonLabaye
Mr Ian PearsonDudley SouthLabaye
Ms Joan RyanEnfield NorthLabtellaye
Mr Gerry SteinbergCity of DurhamLabaye
Mr Derek TwiggHaltonLabaye
Mr Robert WareingLiverpool, West DerbyLabaye
Mr Andrew GeorgeSt IvesLDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive