Summer Recess — 25 Nov 2002 at 15:55

was absent

rose to move to resolve, That it is the opinion of this House that, subject to the requirements of business, in 2003 the Summer Recess should begin not later than the middle of July and the House should sit for two weeks in September.

On Question, Whether the said Motion shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 160; Not-Contents, 76.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Con25 51 (+2 tell)35.9%
Crossbench18 1117.4%
Green1 0100.0%
Independent Labour0 1100.0%
Lab96 (+2 tell) 151.6%
LDem17 1040.9%
Other1 06.7%
Total:158 7435.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Alexander of WeedonConaye
Astor of HeverConaye
Baker of DorkingConaye
Biffen Conaye
Blackwell Conaye
Blaker Conaye
Bridgeman Conaye
Buscombe Conaye
Carlisle of BucklowConaye
Carnegy of LourConaye
Carrington Conaye
Deedes Conaye
Eden of WintonConaye
Elliott of MorpethConaye
Hodgson of Astley AbbottsConaye
Howe Conaye
Howell of GuildfordConaye
Hunt of WirralConaye
Hurd of WestwellConaye
Jopling Conaye
Moynihan Conaye
O'Cathain Conaye
Prior Conaye
Waddington Conaye
Wade of ChorltonConaye
Ampthill Crossbenchno
Boston of FavershamCrossbenchno
Brookeborough Crossbenchno
Chalfont Crossbenchno
Hussey of North BradleyCrossbenchno
Marsh Crossbenchno
Monson Crossbenchno
Palmer Crossbenchno
Saltoun of AbernethyCrossbenchno
Slim Crossbenchno
Strange Crossbenchno
Pendry Labno
Bradshaw LDemno
Dahrendorf LDemno
Falkland LDemno
Goodhart LDemno
Phillips of SudburyLDemno
Rodgers of Quarry BankLDemno
Russell LDemno
Thomas of WalliswoodLDemno
Tordoff LDemno
Wigoder LDemno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive