House of Lords Reform — fully appointed — 4 Feb 2003 at 15:15

was absent

That this House approves Option 1 (fully appointed)

On Question, Whether the said Motion (Option 1) shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 335; Not-Contents, 110.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop7 029.2%
Con126 (+1 tell) 2169.2%
Crossbench82 1155.4%
Green1 0100.0%
Independent Labour0 1100.0%
Lab97 (+1 tell) 40 (+1 tell)72.4%
LDem18 35 (+1 tell)83.1%
Other1 06.7%
UUP1 033.3%
Total:333 10865.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Alexander of WeedonConno
Baker of DorkingConno
The of CaithnessConno
Carrington Conno
Cockfield Conno
Dixon-Smith Conno
Gilmour of CraigmillarConno
Goschen Conno
Henley Conno
Moynihan Conno
The of OnslowConno
Prior Conno
Quinton Conno
Renton of Mount HarryConno
Rotherwick Conno
The of SelborneConno
Soulsby of Swaffham PriorConno
Stevens of LudgateConno
Strathclyde Conno
Trefgarne Conno
Waddington Conno
Adebowale Crossbenchno
Alton of LiverpoolCrossbenchno
The of ErrollCrossbenchno
Greenway Crossbenchno
Hylton Crossbenchno
Joffe Crossbenchno
Lloyd of BerwickCrossbenchno
O'Neill of BengarveCrossbenchno
St John of BletsoCrossbenchno
Thomas of SwynnertonCrossbenchno
Warnock Crossbenchno
Acton Labno
Amos Lab (minister)no
Berkeley Labno
Bernstein of CraigweilLabno
Bragg Labno
Brooke of AlverthorpeLabno
Campbell-Savours Labno
Clark of WindermereLabno
Davies of OldhamLab (minister)no
Desai Labno
Dixon Labno
Dormand of EasingtonLabno
Dubs Labno
Evans of Temple GuitingLabno
Farrington of RibbletonLab (minister)no
Filkin Lab (minister)no
Fyfe of FairfieldLabno
Gale Labno
Graham of EdmontonLabtellno
Hattersley Labno
Hoyle Labno
Hunt of ChestertonLabno
Hunt of Kings HeathLab (minister)no
Jay of PaddingtonLabno
Judd Labno
Kennedy of The ShawsLabno
Lofthouse of PontefractLabno
Mitchell Labno
Morgan Labno
Orme Labno
Pitkeathley Labno
Plant of HighfieldLabno
Prys-Davies Labno
Rea Labno
Rendell of BaberghLabno
Richard Labno
Smith of LeighLabno
Uddin Labno
Whitaker Labno
Whitty Lab (minister)no
Williams of MostynLab (minister)no
Bradshaw LDemaye
Carlile of BerriewLDemaye
Dahrendorf LDemaye
Ezra LDemaye
Falkland LDemaye
Fearn LDemaye
Geraint LDemaye
Mackie of BenshieLDemaye
Methuen LDemaye
Phillips of SudburyLDemaye
Rodgers of Quarry BankLDemaye
Russell-Johnston LDemaye
Sandberg LDemaye
Sharman LDemaye
Thomas of WalliswoodLDemaye
Thomson of MonifiethLDemaye
Tordoff LDemaye
Wigoder LDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive