House of Lords Reform — 60 per cent appointed/40 per cent elected — 4 Feb 2003 at 16:34

was absent

That this House approves Option 5 (60 per cent appointed/40 per cent elected) p>

On Question, Whether the said Motion (Option 5) shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 60; Not-Contents, 358.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop6 025.0%
Con131 (+1 tell) 1468.2%
Crossbench81 953.6%
Green1 0100.0%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Lab101 (+1 tell) 22 (+1 tell)65.1%
LDem33 13 (+1 tell)72.3%
Other1 06.7%
UUP1 033.3%
Total:356 5861.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Alexander of WeedonConaye
Baker of DorkingConaye
Chalker of WallaseyConaye
Gardner of ParkesConaye
Henley Conaye
Hurd of WestwellConaye
Jellicoe Conaye
Lucas Conaye
The of OnslowConaye
Prior Conaye
Quinton Conaye
Renton of Mount HarryConaye
The of SelborneConaye
Wolfson Conaye
Adebowale Crossbenchaye
Bledisloe Crossbenchaye
Freyberg Crossbenchaye
Lloyd of BerwickCrossbenchaye
May of OxfordCrossbenchaye
Northbourne Crossbenchaye
O'Neill of BengarveCrossbenchaye
Thomas of SwynnertonCrossbenchaye
Wilson of TillyornCrossbenchaye
Berkeley Labaye
Brooke of AlverthorpeLabaye
Chandos Labaye
Davies of OldhamLab (minister)aye
Dormand of EasingtonLabaye
Dubs Labaye
Evans of Temple GuitingLabaye
Fyfe of FairfieldLabaye
Gale Labaye
Graham of EdmontonLabtellaye
Hoyle Labaye
Jay of PaddingtonLabaye
Mitchell Labaye
Parekh Labaye
Pitkeathley Labaye
Prys-Davies Labaye
Rea Labaye
Richard Labaye
Sawyer Labaye
Stone of BlackheathLabaye
Uddin Labaye
Warwick of UndercliffeLabaye
Whitaker Labaye
Addington LDemaye
Alderdice LDemaye
Dholakia LDemaye
Goodhart LDemaye
Holme of CheltenhamLDemaye
Ludford LDemaye
McNally LDemaye
Oakeshott of Seagrove BayLDemaye
Perry of WaltonLDemaye
Rennard LDemaye
Roper LDemtellaye
Russell LDemaye
Wallace of SaltaireLDemaye
Williams of CrosbyLDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive