Local Government Bill — Repeal of prohibition on promotion of homosexuality (Section 28) — 10 Mar 2003 at 19:29

Dr Richard Taylor MP, Wyre Forest voted with the majority (No).

The Majority of MPs voted to keep a clause in the Local Government Bill[1] designed repeal the section in the Local Government Act 1986 that says:[2]

  • A local authority shall not
  • intentionally promote homosexuality or publish material with the intention of promoting homosexuality;
  • promote the teaching in any maintained school of the acceptability of homosexuality as a pretended family relationship.

The insertion of this section into the law had been as a result of the controversial Section 28 which was part of the Local Government Act 1988.[3]

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con23 71 (+2 tell)058.9%
Ind1 00100.0%
Ind Con0 10100.0%
Lab301 (+2 tell) 3074.6%
LDem38 0071.7%
PC4 00100.0%
UUP1 1033.3%
Total:368 76070.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr John BercowBuckinghamConno
Mr David CurrySkipton and RiponConno
Mr Stephen DorrellCharnwoodConno
Mr Alan DuncanRutland and MeltonConno
Mr Nigel EvansRibble ValleyConno
Mr Michael FabricantLichfieldConno
Mr Mark FieldCities of London and WestminsterConno
Mr Nick GibbBognor Regis and LittlehamptonConno
Mr Paul GoodmanWycombeConno
Mr Charles HendryWealdenConno
Mr Robert JacksonWantagewhilst Conno
Mr Boris JohnsonHenleyConno
Mr Robert KeySalisburyConno
Mr Andrew MacKayBracknellConno
Mr Andrew MitchellSutton ColdfieldConno
Dr Andrew MurrisonWestburyConno
Mr Archie NormanTunbridge WellsConno
Mr George OsborneTattonConno
Mr Richard OttawayCroydon SouthConno
Mr Richard SpringWest SuffolkConno
Mr Robert SymsPooleConno
Mr Ian TaylorEsher and WaltonConno
Mr Tim YeoSouth SuffolkConno
Mr Joe BentonBootleLabaye
Mr David CrausbyBolton North EastLabaye
Mr Stephen HepburnJarrowLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive