Communications Bill — 23 Jun 2003 at 15:54

was absent

Report received.

Clause 3 [General duties of OFCOM]:

moved Amendment No. 1:

Page 3, line 3, leave out subsection (1) and insert-

"(1) It shall be the principal duty of OFCOM, in carrying out their functions-

(a) to further the interests of citizens in relation to communications matters; and

(b) in that context, to further the interests of consumers in relevant markets;

and to do so where appropriate by promoting competition.

(1A) Where it appears to OFCOM, in relation to the carrying out of any of their functions under Chapter 1 of Part 2, that the requirement specified in subsection (1)(a) conflicts with the requirement specified in subsection (1)(b), they may give priority to the requirement specified in subsection (1)(b)."

On Question, Whether the said amendment (No. 1) shall be agreed to?

*Their Lordships divided: Contents, 179; Not-Contents, 75.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop2 08.3%
Con73 (+1 tell) 034.9%
Crossbench27 116.7%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Lab33 (+1 tell) 71 (+2 tell)56.0%
LDem40 061.5%
UUP1 033.3%
Total:177 7238.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Marsh Crossbenchno
Ashley of StokeLabaye
Barnett Labaye
Bernstein of CraigweilLabaye
Blood Labaye
Bragg Labaye
Brookman Labaye
Bruce of DoningtonLabaye
Clarke of HampsteadLabaye
Clinton-Davis Labaye
Cohen of PimlicoLabaye
David Labaye
Davies of CoityLabaye
Desai Labaye
Donoughue Labaye
Elder Labaye
Evans of WatfordLabaye
Gavron Labaye
Gordon of StrathblaneLabaye
Hilton of EggardonLabaye
Hogg of CumbernauldLabaye
Jay of PaddingtonLabaye
Jordan Labaye
Mallalieu Labaye
McIntosh of HudnallLabaye
Mitchell Labaye
Morgan Labaye
Murray of Epping ForestLabaye
Peston Labaye
Plant of HighfieldLabaye
Puttnam Labtellaye
Rendell of BaberghLabaye
Sheldon Labaye
Turner of CamdenLabaye
Wedderburn of CharltonLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive