Hunting Bill — New Clause 11 — Registration in Respect of Hunting of Foxes — 30 Jun 2003 at 21:52

Mr Wayne David MP, Caerphilly voted with the majority (Aye).

The Aye-voters successfully passed an amendment to add new clause 11:

Registration under Part 2 shall not be effected in respect of the hunting of foxes.

This was the key amendment in changing the Bill away from the Government's proposal for registered hunting. The amendment made the bill absolutely ban the hunting of foxes with dogs.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con6 116 (+2 tell)076.1%
DUP0 1020.0%
Ind0 10100.0%
Ind UU0 1033.3%
Lab330 (+2 tell) 12084.1%
LDem26 18083.0%
PC0 40100.0%
UUP0 1033.3%
Total:362 154081.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr David AmessSouthend WestConaye
Mr David AtkinsonBournemouth EastConaye
Mr Roger GaleNorth ThanetConaye
Mr John TaylorSolihullConaye
Mr Teddy TaylorRochford and Southend EastConaye
Miss Ann WiddecombeMaidstone and The WealdConaye
Ms Hilary ArmstrongNorth West DurhamLabno
Miss Margaret BeckettDerby SouthLabno
Mr David BlunkettSheffield, BrightsideLabno
Mr Nick BrownNewcastle upon Tyne East and WallsendLabno
Mr Robin CookLivingstonLabno
Mr Mark FisherStoke-on-Trent CentralLabno
Ms Kate HoeyVauxhallLabno
Mr Huw Irranca-DaviesOgmoreLabno
Mr Thomas McAvoyGlasgow RutherglenLabno
Mr Alun MichaelCardiff South and PenarthLabno
Mr Austin MitchellGreat GrimsbyLabno
Dr Tony WrightCannock ChaseLabno
Mr Alan BeithBerwick-upon-TweedLDemno
Mr Colin BreedSouth East CornwallLDemno
Mr Malcolm BruceGordonLDemno
Mr John BurnettTorridge and West DevonLDemno
Mr Menzies CampbellNorth East FifeLDemno
Mr Matthew GreenLudlowLDemno
Dr Evan HarrisOxford West and AbingdonLDemno
Mr Nick HarveyNorth DevonLDemno
Mr Archy KirkwoodRoxburgh and BerwickshireLDemno
Mr Norman LambNorth NorfolkLDemno
Mr Michael MooreTweeddale, Ettrick and LauderdaleLDemno
Mr Mark OatenWinchesterLDemno
Mr Lembit ÖpikMontgomeryshireLDemno
Sir Robert SmithWest Aberdeenshire and KincardineLDemno
Mr Matthew TaylorTruro and St AustellLDemno
Viscount John ThursoCaithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLDemno
Mr Roger WilliamsBrecon and RadnorshireLDemno
Mr Richard Younger-RossTeignbridgeLDemno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive