Human Tissue Bill — New Clause 1 — Determination of consent for removal, storage and use of organs from Adults for purpose of transplantation — 28 Jun 2004 at 19:30

Mr Hugo Swire MP, East Devon voted with the majority (No).

I beg to move, That the clause be read a Second time.

Question put, That the clause be read a Second time:-

The House divided: Ayes 60, Noes 307.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con47 17 (+1 tell)039.9%
Ind0 1050.0%
Lab249 (+2 tell) 19066.5%
LDem9 21 (+1 tell)057.4%
PC1 2075.0%
UUP1 0020.0%
Total:307 60058.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr Peter BottomleyWorthing WestConaye
Mr Alistair BurtNorth East BedfordshireConaye
Mr Kenneth ClarkeRushcliffeConaye
Mr Iain Duncan SmithChingford and Woodford GreenConaye
Mr Michael FabricantLichfieldConaye
Mr Eric ForthBromley and ChislehurstConaye
Mr Roger GaleNorth ThanetConaye
Mrs Cheryl GillanChesham and AmershamConaye
Mr Douglas HoggSleaford and North HykehamConaye
Mr Peter LuffMid WorcestershireConaye
Mr Andrew MacKayBracknellContellaye
Mr Michael MatesEast HampshireConaye
Mr Richard PageSouth West HertfordshireConaye
Mr Hugh RobertsonFaversham and Mid KentConaye
Mrs Gillian ShephardSouth West NorfolkConaye
Mr Keith SimpsonMid NorfolkConaye
Mr Desmond SwayneNew Forest WestConaye
Mr Bill WigginLeominsterConaye
Mr Robin CookLivingstonLabaye
Mr Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabaye
Mr Tam DalyellLinlithgowLabaye
Mrs Gwyneth DunwoodyCrewe and NantwichLabaye
Mr Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabaye
Dr Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabaye
Mr Robert Marshall-AndrewsMedwayLabaye
Mr John McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabaye
Mr Tony McWalterHemel HempsteadLabaye
Dr Lewis MoonieKirkcaldyLabaye
Mr Peter PikeBurnleyLabaye
Mr Stephen PoundEaling NorthLabaye
Mr Brian SedgemoreHackney South and ShoreditchLabaye
Ms Clare ShortBirmingham, LadywoodLabaye
Mr Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabaye
Ms Rachel SquireDunfermline WestLabaye
Mr David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLabaye
Mr Alan WilliamsSwansea WestLabaye
Dr Tony WrightCannock ChaseLabaye
Mr Richard AllanSheffield, HallamLDemno
Mr Alan BeithBerwick-upon-TweedLDemno
Mr Menzies CampbellNorth East FifeLDemno
Mr David HeathSomerton and FromeLDemno
Mr David LawsYeovilLDemno
Mr Michael MooreTweeddale, Ettrick and LauderdaleLDemno
Mr Mark OatenWinchesterLDemno
Mr Lembit ÖpikMontgomeryshireLDemno
Professor Steve WebbNorthavonLDemno
Mr Elfyn LlwydMeirionnydd Nant ConwyPCno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive