Hunting Bill — Lords Amendment — 17 Nov 2004 at 19:57

Lord Bell voted with the majority (Content).

A vote to insist on the previous Lords version of the Hunting Bill (ie registered hunting) in place of the Commons amendment of a ban on hunting with dogs.

This was the second round of Parliamentary "ping-pong".

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 188; Not-Contents, 79.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop3 114.8%
Con115 (+1 tell) 156.0%
Green1 0100.0%
Ind Lab1 0100.0%
Lab17 (+1 tell) 60 (+2 tell)39.0%
LDem17 1140.6%
Other2 130.0%
UUP0 133.3%
Crossbench30 218.3%
Total:186 7738.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

The Bishop of WorcesterBishopno
Baroness Fookes Conno
Lord Borrie Labaye
Lord Bragg Labaye
Lord Brennan Labaye
Lord Donoughue Labaye
Lord Evans of Temple GuitingLab (minister)aye
Baroness Golding Labaye
Lord Gordon of StrathblaneLabaye
Lord Hogg of CumbernauldLabaye
Lord Howie of TroonLabaye
Lord MacKenzie of CulkeinLabaye
Baroness Mallalieu Labtellaye
Lord Prys-Davies Labaye
Lord Randall of St BudeauxLabaye
Lord Richard Labaye
Lord Rooker Lab (minister)aye
Viscount Simon Labaye
Lord Strabolgi Labaye
Baroness Wilkins Labaye
Lord Avebury LDem (front bench)no
Lord Garden LDemno
Lord Greaves LDemno
Baroness Hamwee LDem (front bench)no
Baroness Harris of RichmondLDem (front bench)no
The Earl of Mar and KellieLDemno
Lord McNally LDem (front bench)no
Baroness Northover LDem (front bench)no
Lord Rennard LDemno
Lord Roberts of LlandudnoLDemno
Lord Shutt of GreetlandLDem (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive