Car Mileage Allowance — 26 Jan 2005 at 17:10

Mr Austin Mitchell MP, Great Grimsby voted in the minority (Aye).

The No-voters rejected the Motion:

In the opinion of this House the reduction in the rates at which the car mileage allowance is payable till they are the same as the car mileage rates approved by the Inland Revenue, which was agreed by the House on 3rd November 2004, should be phased in between 1st April 2005 and 1st April 2009, or the day after the general election after next, whichever is the later; and the rates to be in effect for each year should be determined by the Members Estimate Committee; and the higher rate of the allowance should continue to be payable up to a total of 20,000 miles and the lower rate thereafter.

There had been no debate for this motion. It's not stated what the rejection of this motion means. They are either against the reduction in car mileage allowance in general, or they are against its gradual phasing in and in favour of bringing it down immediately.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con47 18140.7%
DUP0 4057.1%
Lab164 (+2 tell) 72 (+2 tell)159.1%
LDem29 9069.1%
PC3 10100.0%
SNP4 0080.0%
UUP0 50100.0%
Total:247 109256.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr David AmessSouthend WestConaye
Mr John ButterfillBournemouth WestConaye
Mr Kenneth ClarkeRushcliffeConaye
Sir Patrick CormackSouth StaffordshireConaye
Mr David CurrySkipton and RiponConaye
Mr Roger GaleNorth ThanetConaye
Mr Edward GarnierHarboroughConaye
Mr John GreenwayRyedaleConaye
Mr Oliver HealdNorth East HertfordshireConaye
Mr Michael JackFyldeConaye
Mr Ian Liddell-GraingerBridgwaterConaye
Dr Brian MawhinneyNorth West CambridgeshireConaye
Dr Bob SpinkCastle PointConaye
Mr Anthony SteenTotnesConaye
Sir Peter TapsellLouth and HorncastleConaye
Mr David TredinnickBosworthConaye
Ann WintertonCongletonwhilst Conaye
Mr Nicholas WintertonMacclesfieldConaye
Mr Michael SpicerWest WorcestershireConboth
Mrs Irene AdamsPaisley NorthLabaye
Mr Graham AllenNottingham NorthLabaye
Mrs Janet AndersonRossendale and DarwenLabaye
Ms Candy AthertonFalmouth and CamborneLabaye
Mr Kevin BarronRother ValleyLabaye
Mr John BattleLeeds WestLabaye
Mr Nigel BeardBexleyheath and CrayfordLabaye
Miss Anne BeggAberdeen SouthLabaye
Mr Clive BettsSheffield, AttercliffeLabaye
Mrs Liz BlackmanErewashLabaye
Mr Ben ChapmanWirral SouthLabaye
Mr David ClellandTyne BridgeLabaye
Mr Harry CohenLeyton and WansteadLabaye
Mr David CrausbyBolton North EastLabaye
Mr John CummingsEasingtonLabaye
Mr Ian DavidsonGlasgow PollokLabaye
Mr Jim DobbinHeywood and MiddletonLabaye
Mr Brian H DonohoeCunninghame SouthLabaye
Mr Jim DowdLewisham WestLabaye
Mrs Gwyneth DunwoodyCrewe and NantwichLabaye
Ms Angela EagleWallaseyLabaye
Mr Jeff EnnisBarnsley East and MexboroughLabaye
Mr Bill EtheringtonSunderland NorthLabaye
Ms Lorna FitzsimonsRochdaleLabaye
Mr Derek FosterBishop AucklandLabaye
Mr Mike GapesIlford SouthLabaye
Mr Roger GodsiffBirmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabaye
Mr Peter HainNeathLabaye
Mr Mike HallWeaver ValeLabtellaye
Mr Tom HarrisGlasgow CathcartLabaye
Mr Dai HavardMerthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabaye
Mr Mark HendrickPrestonLabaye
Mr Jimmy HoodClydesdaleLabaye
Mr Alan HowarthNewport EastLabaye
Mr George HowarthKnowsley North and Sefton EastLabaye
Mr Lindsay HoyleChorleyLabaye
Dr Brian IddonBolton South EastLabaye
Mr Eric IllsleyBarnsley CentralLabaye
Mr Brian JenkinsTamworthLabaye
Ms Helen JonesWarrington NorthLabaye
Mr Kevan JonesNorth DurhamLabaye
Mr Martyn JonesClwyd SouthLabaye
Mr David KidneyStaffordLabaye
Mr Bob LaxtonDerby NorthLabaye
Mr Martin LintonBatterseaLabaye
Mr Andrew LoveEdmontonLabaye
Mr Ian LucasWrexhamLabaye
Mr John MacDougallCentral FifeLabaye
Mrs Alice MahonHalifaxLabaye
Ms Ann McKechinGlasgow MaryhillLabaye
Mrs Rosemary McKennaCumbernauld and KilsythLabaye
Mr John McWilliamBlaydonLabaye
Mr Austin MitchellGreat GrimsbyLabaye
Mr George MudieLeeds EastLabaye
Dr Doug NaysmithBristol North WestLabaye
Mr Martin O'NeillOchilLabaye
Mr Colin PickthallWest LancashireLabaye
Mr Peter PikeBurnleyLabaye
Mr Stephen PoundEaling NorthLabaye
Mr Gwyn ProsserDoverLabaye
Mr Ken PurchaseWolverhampton North EastLabtellaye
Mr John RobertsonGlasgow AnnieslandLabaye
Mr Ernie RossDundee WestLabaye
Mr Mohammad SarwarGlasgow GovanLabaye
Mr Barry SheermanHuddersfieldLabaye
Mr Marsha SinghBradford WestLabaye
Mr Gerry SteinbergCity of DurhamLabaye
Mr Paddy TippingSherwoodLabaye
Mr Bill TynanHamilton SouthLabaye
Mr Robert WareingLiverpool, West DerbyLabaye
Mr Alan WilliamsSwansea WestLabaye
Mrs Betty WilliamsConwyLabaye
Mr Shaun WoodwardSt Helens SouthLabaye
Mr Phil WoolasOldham East and SaddleworthLabaye
Mr John McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabboth
Dr Vincent CableTwickenhamLDemaye
Mr Nick HarveyNorth DevonLDemaye
Mr Paul KeetchHerefordLDemaye
Mr Archy KirkwoodRoxburgh and BerwickshireLDemaye
Mr Mark OatenWinchesterLDemaye
Mr Lembit ÖpikMontgomeryshireLDemaye
Viscount John ThursoCaithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLDemaye
Mr Paul TylerNorth CornwallLDemaye
Mr Richard Younger-RossTeignbridgeLDemaye
Mr Elfyn LlwydMeirionnydd Nant ConwyPCaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive