Prevention of Terrorism Bill — 7 Mar 2005 at 16:45

was absent

<[i>Amendments Nos. 48 to 54 not moved.]

Clause 2 negatived.

Clause 3 <[i>Duration and renewal of non-derogating control orders]:

moved Amendment No. 55:

Page 4, line 36, at beginning insert-

(A1) The Secretary of State may make a control order against an individual if he-

(a) has reasonable grounds for suspecting that the individual is or has been involved in terrorism-related activity; and

(b) considers that it is necessary, for purposes connected with protecting members of the public from a risk of terrorism, to make a control order imposing obligations on that individual.

(A2) The Secretary of State may make a control order against an individual who is for the time being bound by a control order made by the court only if he does so-

(a) after the court has determined that its order should be revoked; but

(b) while the effect of the revocation has been postponed for the purpose of giving the Secretary of State an opportunity to decide whether to exercise his own powers to make a control order against the individual.

(A3) A control order made by the Secretary of State is called a non-derogating control order."

moved, as an amendment to Amendment No. 55, Amendment No. 56:

Line 2, leave out "Secretary of State" and insert "court"

On Question, Whether Amendment No. 56, as an amendment to Amendment No. 55, shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 249; Not-Contents, 119.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop2 08.0%
Con118 (+1 tell) 057.2%
Crossbench47 630.3%
Green1 0100.0%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Lab20 111 (+2 tell)64.9%
LDem57 (+1 tell) 084.1%
Other1 010.0%
Total:247 11753.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Bledisloe Crossbenchno
Butler of BrockwellCrossbenchno
Hannay of ChiswickCrossbenchno
Kilclooney Crossbenchno
Marsh Crossbenchno
Vincent of ColeshillCrossbenchno
Acton Labaye
Ahmed Labaye
Borrie Labaye
Clinton-Davis Labaye
David Labaye
Grantchester Labaye
Hayman Labaye
Irvine of LairgLabaye
Judd Labaye
Kennedy of The ShawsLabaye
Mallalieu Labaye
Mitchell Labaye
Morgan Labaye
Morris of AberavonLabaye
Plant of HighfieldLabaye
Prys-Davies Labaye
Rendell of BaberghLabaye
Rogers of RiversideLabaye
Sheldon Labaye
Turner of CamdenLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive