House of Lords: Reform (80pc elected, 20pc appointed) — 14 Mar 2007 at 16:49

was absent

Resolved in the negative, and Motion disagreed to accordingly.

On Question, Whether the said Motion shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 114; Not-Contents, 336.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop3 011.5%
Con126 (+1 tell) 2271.6%
Crossbench82 1351.1%
DUP3 0100.0%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Lab104 (+1 tell) 39 (+1 tell)67.1%
LDem10 37 (+1 tell)60.8%
Other2 142.9%
UKIP1 050.0%
UUP2 066.7%
Total:334 11261.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Baker of DorkingConaye
Cope of BerkeleyCon (front bench)aye
The of CourtownConaye
Dixon-Smith Con (front bench)aye
Gilmour of CraigmillarConaye
Goschen Conaye
Henley Con (front bench)aye
Hogg Conaye
Hooper Conaye
Hunt of WirralConaye
Hurd of WestwellConaye
Kingsland Con (front bench)aye
Lucas Conaye
Mancroft Conaye
Moynihan Conaye
Prior Conaye
Sainsbury of Preston CandoverConaye
The of SelborneConaye
Strathclyde Con (front bench)aye
Trefgarne Conaye
Tugendhat Conaye
Wilcox Con (front bench)aye
Alton of LiverpoolCrossbenchaye
Burns Crossbenchaye
Elis-Thomas Crossbenchaye
The of ErrollCrossbenchaye
Freyberg Crossbenchaye
Haskins Crossbenchaye
Hylton Crossbenchaye
May of OxfordCrossbenchaye
Meacher Crossbenchaye
Montgomery of AlameinCrossbenchaye
Ouseley Crossbenchaye
Owen Crossbenchaye
Rees of LudlowCrossbenchaye
Adonis Lab (minister)aye
Amos Lab (minister)aye
Bragg Labaye
Brooke of AlverthorpeLabaye
Campbell-Savours Labaye
Chandos Labaye
Davies of OldhamLab (minister)aye
Desai Labaye
Dubs Labtellaye
Eatwell Labaye
Falconer of ThorotonLab (minister)aye
Fyfe of FairfieldLabaye
Gale Labaye
Giddens Labaye
Graham of EdmontonLabaye
Haskel Labaye
Henig Labaye
Hollick Labaye
Howells of St DavidsLabaye
Hoyle Labaye
Hunt of Kings HeathLab (minister)aye
Jay of PaddingtonLabaye
Jones of WhitchurchLabaye
Kinnock Labaye
McIntosh of HaringeyLabaye
McKenzie of LutonLab (minister)aye
Mitchell Labaye
Morgan Labaye
Parekh Labaye
Prys-Davies Labaye
Quin Labaye
Rea Labaye
Richard Labaye
Sawyer Labaye
Smith of FinsburyLabaye
Strabolgi Labaye
Thornton Labaye
Uddin Labaye
Whitaker Labaye
Whitty Labaye
Bradshaw LDem (front bench)no
Carlile of BerriewLDemno
Falkland LDemno
Mackie of BenshieLDemno
Methuen LDemno
Miller of Chilthorne DomerLDem (front bench)no
Redesdale LDem (front bench)no
Russell-Johnston LDemno
Steel of AikwoodLDemno
Watson of RichmondLDemno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive