Communications Allowance — establishment — 28 Mar 2007 at 15:20

Mark Hoban MP, Fareham voted in the minority (No).

The Majority voted to approve the report of the Members Estimate Committee[1], and to establish on 1 April a Communications Allowance,[2] for the purpose of assisting MPs with expenditure incurred in communicating with the public about Parliamentary business at the rate of £10,000 per year. This followed a preliminary vote the previous year.[3]

The Communications Allowance is for Parliamentary, but not party political or personal business and can be used to fund regular reports and constituency newsletters, questionnaires and surveys, petitions, targeted communications, contact cards, distributions costs including direct mailing and postage, and websites.

The type of information that is allowable includes information about the Member, information about Parliament, details of how to get in touch, on-line surgeries, details of surgeries, press releases about work as a Member, links to public service and other websites, website design and maintenance, and blogs.

The type of information that it should not be used includes business activities, fund raising, promotion of a political party, or political campaigning for or against anyone in an election.

Investigations into complaints about the use of this allowance are heard (and published) by the Standards and Privileges Committee.[4]

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con2 148 (+2 tell)077.6%
DUP0 3033.3%
Ind0 20100.0%
Lab262 (+2 tell) 2075.6%
LDem19 26071.4%
PC0 2066.7%
SDLP0 1033.3%
SNP0 3050.0%
UUP0 10100.0%
Total:283 188074.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Quentin DaviesGrantham and Stamfordwhilst Conaye
Bob SpinkCastle Pointwhilst Conaye
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabno
Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabno
Danny AlexanderInverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyLDemaye
Tom BrakeCarshalton and WallingtonLDemaye
Colin BreedSouth East CornwallLDemaye
Paul BurstowSutton and CheamLDemaye
Lorely BurtSolihullLDemaye
Vincent CableTwickenhamLDemaye
Lynne FeatherstoneHornsey and Wood GreenLDemaye
Don FosterBathLDemaye
Mike HancockPortsmouth SouthLDemaye
Nick HarveyNorth DevonLDemaye
Susan KramerRichmond ParkLDemaye
Michael MooreBerwickshire, Roxburgh and SelkirkLDemaye
Greg MulhollandLeeds North WestLDemaye
Mark OatenWinchesterLDemaye
Alan ReidArgyll and ButeLDemaye
Dan RogersonNorth CornwallLDemaye
Bob RussellColchesterLDemaye
Stephen WilliamsBristol WestLDemaye
Jennifer WillottCardiff CentralLDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive